APSC INSTRUCTOR CERTIFICATION

Please take time to read through the entire packet and gather the applicable supporting documents. The checklist (last page of this packet) has been included to assist in completing the application process. Also, please note the differentiation between Law Enforcement and General subjects.

The Alaska Police Standards council will award an instructor certificate in law enforcement and general subject areas, as specified below. All applications must be made on this form, F-9. Unless already sent to the APSC, verification of training and education must accompany the application. The requirements below are intended to insure that instructors meet minimum qualifications in training, education, and experience. For full text of regulations governing instructor certification, see 13 AAC 87.040, printed in the APSC Regulations and Procedures Manual.

- A. Law Enforcement Subjects. To be eligible for certification to teach subjects clearly law enforcement in nature, an applicant must have a minimum of:
 - 1. high school diploma or the equivalent;
 - 2. three years' experience in their respective professions;
 - 3. 40 hours of council-approved instructor training including but not limited to: communications, psychology of learning, techniques of instruction, use of instructional aids, lesson plans, evaluation of training, teaching resources, preparing and giving tests, and trainee motivation;
 - 4. 40 hours of verified training in each subject to be taught; and
 - 5. recommendation by a director of a council-approved training program* or by the applicant's department head (per signature of endorsing official on this form).
- B. General (non-law enforcement specific) Subjects. To be eligible for certification to teach general subjects, an applicant must have the minimum of:
 - 1. a bachelor's degree from an accredited college;
 - 2. three years' experience in the subject taught; and
 - 3. the recommendation by a director of a council-approved training program* (per signature of endorsing official on this form).
- C. Waivers. The council may waive any part of the above requirement if:
 - 1. it finds that a person, though not meeting all of the requirements, is otherwise qualified to be an instructor.

Training directors/coordinators or department heads must submit a request for waiver in writing, stating why they consider the applicant qualified, even though they do not meet all requirements specified above.

The council may revoke certification whenever it finds an instructor is no longer qualified; the instructor will be so notified and allowed the opportunity to be heard.

An instructor certificate becomes inactive if the holder does not instruct at least one APSC certified course during an interval of three consecutive years.

*Programs certified by the APSC under 13 AAC 87.010 or .020

Alaska Police Standards Council PO Box 111200 Juneau, AK 99811-1200 Ph: (907) 465-4525 Email: APSC@alaska.gov

APSC INSTRUCTOR CERTIFICATION APPLICATION

F-9

NOTE: Continue on another sheet of paper if you need more space.

Name (Last, First, Middle)									Certification Requested:		
									Law Enforceme	ent General	
Home	Address								Social Security Nu	umber or APSC ID Number	
City, S	State, Zip Code				Email Address				Phone (Business))	
•	, ,								,		
Home	Agency (List Present Employer First)			Address/Location				Dates Emp From	loyed To	Highest Position Held	
	1.										
	2.										
	3.										
	4.										
	Recent Teaching Experience								ng Certification to Teach: PLEASE ATTACH F-20 LAN for Course if not already on file with APSC.		
NOI	Where	When		Subjects Taught			Law Enforcement: (if "Law Enforcement" box is checked above)				
	1.										
ING DUCA	2.										
B. TEACH EXPERIENCE & EI	3.										
	Instructor Courses Completed (Attach Verification of Training) General: (if "Ger								ral" box is checked above)		
	1.										
	2.										
	3.										
	High School Diploma GED	College(s) Attend	ed/Location		Credit Hours	Major		Degree (Type)		
MIC	Date Received:										
ACADE DUCA	School/Location:										
Ö											
RES	Signature of APPLICANT Attesting Above Information is True and Correct: Date									APSC USE ONLY Approved by:	
	Signature of ENDORSING OFFICIAL (Department Head/Academy Director/Training Coordinator) Date										
	Signature of English Education (Section Fig. 1)								Date issued:		

APSC INSTRUCTOR CERTIFICATION APPLICATION CHECKLIST

Law Enforcement Subjects	General Subjects	
Documentation of completion of instructor level course in topic seeking certification attached	Documentation of bachelor's degree attached or on file	
Documentation of 40-hour instructor development (MOI/Train the Trainer) course attached	Three years' experience in subject taught	
High school diploma attached or on file with APSC	F-9 signed by endorsing official (agency head/academy director/training coordinator)	
Three years' experience in public safety related field	Waiver attached (if instructor candidate does not meet the above requirements)	
F-9 signed by endorsing official (agency head/academy director/training coordinator)	F-20 attached or on file with APSC	
Waiver attached (if instructor candidate does not meet the above requirements)	F-20 signed by endorsing official (agency head/academy director/training coordinator)	
F-20 attached or on file with APSC	Lesson plan attached to F-20 or on file with APSC	
F-20 signed by endorsing official (agency head/academy director/training coordinator)		
Lesson plan attached to F-20 or on file with APSC		

Please submit all forms and supporting documents to the Training Coordinator (Greg Stocker) at the Alaska Police Standards Council. Documents may be submitted in hard copy form or by e-mail.

Mailing address:

Alaska Police Standards Council PO Box 111200 Juneau, AK 99811-1200

Electronic mail:

apsc@alaska.gov

Additional forms, to include the F-20, may be found online at: http://www.dps.state.ak.us/APSC/forms.aspx