Highway Safety Media

Impaired Driving is a Dead End

These public service announcements are designed to inform and remind you of the negative consequences of driving while impaired by alcohol or drugs, which may include being arrested, jailed, fined, injured, killed or killing someone else. The penalties in Alaska for driving impaired are severe.

Click It or Ticket

Seatbelts are designed to keep you in your vehicle if you are involved in a collision. If you stay in your car during a crash, you are 2.3 times more likely to survive. Of the people who are ejected, 77% of them are fatally injured. And if you are not wearing a seatbelt you can also be pulled over and given a ticket.

Penalties for Not Buckling Up

A driver may be fined up to $50 statewide and $200 in the Municipality of Anchorage and may receive two points on their operator’s license for failure to restrain passengers under age 16. Adult violations are subject to a $15 fine statewide and a $60 fine in the Municipality of Anchorage.

One Text or Call Could Wreck it All

Distracted driving is a dangerous epidemic on America's roadways. In 2009 alone, nearly 5,500 people were killed and 450,000 more were injured in distracted driving crashes. You're 23x more likely to crash if you text while driving.

Alaska Texting While Driving Penalties

Text and drive only Class A Misdemeanor up to $10,000 and 1 year in prison
Injure someone Class C Felony up to $50,000 and 5 years in prison
Seriously injure someone Class B Felony up to $100,000 and 10 years in prison
Kill someone Class A Felony up to $250,000 and 20 years in prison

Be Road Wise AK

The Alaska State Troopers put all our other highway safety messages under this heading. There are many more factors that can create hazardous situations on Alaska roads. You, the driver, are on the front line. You make the biggest difference when it comes to safety on our roadways.

View these public service announcements