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ORDER CERTIFYING THE CHANGES TO 
REGULATIONS OF ALASKA POLICE STANDARDS COUNCIL 

The attached twenty-three (23) pages ofregulations, dealing with 13 AAC 85.010 - 85.120, and 
85.900, regarding police officer basic standards, permanent employment, certification, 
reciprocity, records, basic police academies, and definitions, are certified to be a correct copy of 
the regulation changes that the Alaska Police Standards Council adopted at its August 16, 2016 
meeting, under the authority of AS 18.65.220, AS 18.65.240, and AS 18.65.270 and after 
compliance with the Administrative Procedure Act (AS 44.62), specifically including notice 
under AS 44.62.190 and 44.62.200 and opportunity for public comment under AS 44.62.210. 

This action is not expected to require an increased appropriation. 

On the record, in considering public comments, the Alaska Police Standards Council paid special 
attention to the cost to private persons of the regulatory action being taken. 

The regulation changes described in this order take effect on the 30th day after they have been 
filed by the lieutenant governor, as provided in AS 44.62.180. 

Date: 
I I 

FILING CERTIFICATION 

allott Lieutenant Governor for the State of Alaska, certify that on 

"""""'=~~a_i~..__, 20 lb_ at \t_ \b S\ .m., I filed the attached regulations according to 

isions of AS 44.62.040-44.62.120. l~~ ~ ~~ \\--
Lieut~~ 

Effective: 

Register: 



Register Jli, ~c.k ~er 2016 PUBLIC SAFETY 

13 AAC 85.0lO(a) is amended to read: 

(a) A participating police department may not hire a person as a police officer unless the 

person meets the following minimum qualifications at the time of hire: 

(1) is a citizen of the United States [OR A RESIDENT ALIEN WHO HAS 

DEMONSTRATED AN INTENT TO BECOME A CITIZEN OF THE UNITED STATES]; 

(2) is 21 years of age or older; 

(3) is of good moral character; 

(4) has a high school diploma recognized by a state, llas a diploma from a 

home school program recognized or ce1·tified by a state or by a local school district within a 

state as having met that state's graduation requirements, [OR ITS EQUIVALENT,] or has 

passed a General Educational Development (GED) test; 

(5) is[, AT THE TIME OF HIRE,] certified by a licensed physician, advanced 

practice registered nurse, or physician assistant on a medical record form supplied by the 

council to be physically capable of performing the essential functions of the job of police officer; 

(6) is certified by a licensed psychiatrist or psychologist, on a psychological 

record form supplied by the council, to be mentally capable of performing the essential 

functions of the job of police officer and is free from any emotional disorder that may adversely 

affect the person's performance as a police officer. 

13 AAC 85.0lO(b) is amended to read: 

(b) A participating police department may not hire as a police officer a person 

(1) who has been convicted of any [A] felony or a misdemeanor crime of 
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domestic violence by a civilian court ofthis state, the United States, or another state or territory, 

or by a military court; 

(2) who has been convicted, during the 10 years immediately before the date of 

hire as a police officer, of a crime of dishonesty or crime of moral turpitude, of a crime that 

resulted in serious physical injury to another person, or of two or more DUI [DWI] offenses, by 

a civilian court of this state, the United States, or another state or territory, or hy a military court; 

(3) who 

(A) has been denied certification, has had the person's basic certification 

revoked, or has surrendered the person's basic certificate, in this state or another 

jurisdiction, unless the denial,,, [OR] revocation, or surrender has been rescinded by the 

council under 13 AAC 85.110 or by the responsible certifying [LICENSING] agency of 

the issuing jurisdiction; or 

(B) is under suspension of a basic certification in another jurisdiction, for 

the period of the suspension, unless the suspension has been rescinded by the 

responsible certifying [LICENSING] agency of the issuing jurisdiction; or 

(4) who 

(A) has illegally manufactured, transported, or sold a controlled 

substance, unless the person was under the age of 21 at the time of the act and the act 

occurred more than 10 years before the date of hire; 

(B) within the five [TEN] years before the date of hire, has illegally used 

a Schedule IA, IIA. IDA, IV A, or VA controlled substance [OTHER THAN 

MARIJUANA], unless 

2 



Register _J.li, Dr.iher2016 PUBLIC SAFETY 

ill the person was under the age of 21 at the time of using the 

controlled substance; or 

(ii) an immediate, pressing, or emergency medical 

circumstance existed to justify the use of a prescription Schedule IA, IIA, 

IHA, IV A, or VA controlled substance not specifically prescribed to the 

person;!!! 

(C) within the one year before the date of hire, has used marijuana, unless 

the person was under the age of 21 at the time of using marijuana. 

13 AAC 85.0lO(c) is amended to read: 

(c) A participating police department has 30 [90] days after the date of hire to confirm 

that a person hired as a police officer meets the standards of (a) and (b) of this section. The 

council may [WILL, IN ITS DISCRETION,] grant an extension of the 30-day [90-DAY] period 

if the council determines that the person will probably be able to meet the standards by the end of 

the extension period. The chief administrative officer of the police department where the person 

is employed shall make a written request for the extension, and shall explain the reason the 

extension is necessary. If a police department concludes at the end of the investigation that the 

person does not meet the required standards, the department shall immediately discharge the 

person from employment as a police officer. When deciding whether a person meets the 

standards of (a) and (b) of this section, the department shall 

(1) obtain proof of age, citizenship status, and education; 

(2) obtain fingerprints on two copies of FBI Applicant Card FD-258 and forward 
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both cards to the automated fingerprint identification section of the Department of Public Safety; 

(3) obtain a complete personal history of the person on a form supplied [OR 

APPROVED] by the council; 

(4) conduct a thorough personal-history investigation of the person to determine 

character traits and habits indicative of moral character and fitness as a police officer; 

(5) obtain a complete medical history report of the person; the report must be 

given to a licensed physician, advanced practice registered nurse, or pbysician assistant to 

use as a basis in conducting a physical examination of the person; 

( 6) require the person to undergo an examination by a licensed psychiatrist or 

psychologist [, APPROVED BY THE COUNCIL, IF A PREVIOUS PSYCHIATRIC OR 

PSYCHOLOGICAL EXAMINATION HAS INDICATED A PAST OR PRESENT 

PERSONALITY DEFECT OR MENTAL PROBLEM]; and 

(7) determine whether the person 

(A) has been denied certification, has had the person's basic certification 

revoked, or has surrendered the person's basic certificate, in this state or another 

jurisdiction, and whether the denial.i [OR] revocation, or surrender [IF ANY,] has been 

rescinded by the council under 13 AAC 85 .110 or by the responsible certifying 

[LICENSING] agency of the issuing jurisdiction; or 

(B) is under suspension of a basic certification in another jurisdiction, for 

the period of the suspension, and whether the suspension[, IF ANY,] has been rescinded 

by the responsible certifying [LICENSING] agency of the issuing jurisdiction. 
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13 AAC 85.0lO(d) is amended to read: 

( d) All information, documents, and reports obtained by a participating police 

department under ( c) of this section must be placed in the permanent files of the police 

department and must be available for examination at any reasonable time by representatives of 

the council. A copy of any criminal record discovered and of the following completed council 

forms must be sent to the council within 30 [90] days after the date of each hire: 

[AND] 

(1) the medical examination report [MEDICAL EXAM FORM]; 

(2) the health questionnaire [HEALTH QUESTIONNAIRE]; 

(3) the personal hlstorv statement [PERSONAL HISTORY STATEMENT]; 

(4) the psychological record form; and 

(5) the compliance form to record an agency's compliance with (c)(l) - (7) of 

this section [A VERIFICATION OF A PSYCHOLOGICAL OR PSYCHIATRIC 

EXAMINATION REPORT, WHEN THE EXAMINATION IS MANDATORY]. 

13 AAC 85.0lO(e) is repealed and readopted to read: 

( e) A police officer shall enroll in a council-certified basic police officer academy within 

six months after the date of hire. A police officer shall complete a council-certified field training 

program, and verification of completion shall be sent, on a form supplied by the council, to the 

council within the probationary period specified in 13 AAC 85.040(b)(3). 
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13 AAC 85.0lO(f) is amended to read: 

(f) The information in the council's files is confidential, and available only for use by the 

council in carrying out the requirements of AS 18.65.130 - 18.65.290 and the regulations adopted 

under AS 18.65.130 - 18.65.290. However, training records and the documents listed in (d) and 

( e) of this section relating to an applicant or police officer may be reviewed by the applicant or 

officer. Information that indicates that a person might not qualify for certification as a police 

officer, or that adversely reflects upon a person's ability to be a competent officer may [, WILL, 

IN THE COUNCIL'S DISCRETION,] be furnished by the council to a federal, state, or local 

law enforcement agency [PARTICIPATING POLICE DEPARTMENT] that has hired or is 

considering hiring the person. A police officer or applicant may not review information in the 

council's files that [WHICH] was supplied to the council with the understanding that the 

information or the source of the information would remain confidential, except that any 

information that serves as the basis for a decision to deny or revoke certification will be revealed 

to the police officer or applicant. 

13 AAC 85.0lO(h) is amended to read: 

(h) The council will[, IN ITS DISCRETION,] design and distribute forms to aid police 

departments in obtaining the information required in ( c) of this section. (Eff. 8/10/73, Register 

47; am 8/10/80, Register 75; am 9/23/84, Register 91; am 3/16/89, Register 109; am 8/8/90, 

Register 115; am 10/24/92, Register 124; am 8/5/95, Register 135; am 7/15/98, Register 147; am 

2120199, Register 149; am 8/16/2000, Register 155; am 3/25/2001, Register 157; am 8/8/2007, 

Register 183; am 2/13/2010, Register 193; am j_;:J.'f;2.0/6 Register~ 
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Authority: AS 18.65.220 

PUBLIC SAFETY 

AS 18.65.240 

13 AAC 85.020(b) is amended to read: 

(b) A participating police department may not employ a person as a police officer for 

more than 13 [14] consecutive months unless the person has a current basic certificate issued by 

the council under 13 AAC 85.040, or unless an extension is granted under (c) of this section. 

13 AAC 85.020(c) is amended to read: 

(c) The council may [WILL] grant an extension for employment for longer than 13 [14] 

months to allow a police officer· to complete the necessary training.based upon a written 

request for extension from [IF] the chief administrative officer of the participating police 

department The council may grant an extension one time only, not to [MAKES A WRITTEN 

REQUEST FOR EXTENSION. ADDITIONALLY, AN EXTENSION WILL BE GRANTED 

TO ALLOW AN OFFICER TO COMPLETE THE NECESSARY TRAINING IF THE 

WRITTEN REQUEST FOR EXTENSION STATES THAT THE OFFICER IS UNABLE TO 

DO SO IN THE FIRST 14 MONTHS OF EMPLOYMENT BECAUSE OF ILLNESS, INJURY, 

ORF AMIL Y EMERGENCY. AN EXTENSION MAY NOT] exceed six months. (Eff. 8/19/73, 

Register 47; am 9/17/76, Register 59; am 8/10/80, Register 75; am 9/23/84, Register 91; am 

8/8/90, Register 115· am 8/1 6/2000, Register 155; am _j;~:;.016, Register~ 

Authority: AS 18.65.220 AS 18.65.240 
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13 AAC 85.040(b)(l) is amended to read: 

(1) be a full-time paid police officer of a police department in this state 

[ALASKA]; 

13 AAC 85.040(b)(4) is amended to read: 

(4) have successfully completed, within 13 months after the applicant's date of 

hire as a police officer in this state, a council-certified basic police officer academy 

[WITHIN THREE YEARS OF THE APPLICANT'S EMPLOYMENT AS A POLICE 

OFFICER THE BASIC POLICE TRAINING PROGRAM] meeting the standards of 13 AAC 

85.050 or 13 AAC 85.060; 

13 AAC 85.040(c) is repealed and readopted to read: 

(c) To be eligible for an intermediate certificate, an applicant must 

(1) be a full-time paid police officer of a police department in this state; 

(2) possess a basic certificate; and 

(3) have acquired either or both of the following, subject to (h) of this section, 

and except that training hours earned while attending a basic police officer academy do not count 

towards an intermediate certificate: 

(A) the following minimum number of years of experience as a police 

officer, minimum education points, and minimum training hours: 
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Minimum years two four five SIX 

of experience as 

a police officer 

Minimum Bachelor of arts Associate of arts 45 None 

education points (B.A.) or (A.A.) or 

in college credit bachelor of associate of 

science (B.S.) science (A.S.) 

degree degree 

Minimum 40 80 100 120 

training hours 

(B) seven or more years of experience as a police officer and a minimum 

of 20 training hours for each year of police officer experience. 

13 AAC 85.040(d) is repealed and readopted to read: 

(d) To be eligible for an advanced certificate, an applicant must 

(1) be a full-time paid police officer of a police department in this state; 

(2) possess a basic certificate and an intermediate certificate; and 

(3) have acquired either or both of the following, subject to (h) of this section, 

and except that training hours earned while attending a basic police officer academy do not count 

towards an advanced certificate: 

(A) the following minimum number of years of experience as a police 
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officer, minimum education points, and minimum training hours: 

Minimum four SIX mne 11 13 

years of 

experience as a 

police officer 

Minimum Master Bachelor of Associate of 45 None 

education degree arts (B.A.) arts (A.A.) or 

points in or bachelor associate of 

college credit of science science (A.S.) 

(B.S.) degree 

degree 

Minimum 40 80 140 180 220 

training hours 

(B) 14 or more years of experience as a police officer and a minimum of 

20 training hours for each year of police officer experience. 

13 AAC 85.040(e) is repealed: 

( e) Repealed _i_; .;l'f J::l-0 IC . 

13 AAC 85.040(±) is amended to read: 

(f) College credits or degrees awarded by an institution of higher learning accredited 
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by a regional or national accl'Cditing agency recognized by the United States Secretary of 

Education [THE NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF POST-SCECONDARY EDUCATION] will 

be recognized by the council. College credits awarded for a basic police office1· academy 

[TRAINING PROGRAM] will not be recognized for education points toward an intermediate or 

advanced certificate. College credits awarded for advanced, supervisory, management, executive, 

or specialized law enforcement courses may [WILL, IN THE COUNCIL'S DISCRETION,] be 

recognized by the council for either training or education points. Education points will be 

awarded on the following basis: 

(1) one-quarter college credit equals two-thirds of an education point; 

(2) one semester college credit equals one education point. 

13 AAC 85.040(g) is amended to read: 

(g) [TWENTY HOURS OF COUNCIL-CERTIFIED OR RECOGNIZED POLICE 

OFFICER TRAINING EQUALS ONE TRAINING POINT TOWARD AN INTERMEDIATE 

OR ADVANCED CERTIFICATE.] All training must be documented and the course must have 

been completed successfully by the applicant. 

13 AAC 85.040 is amended by adding a new subsection to read: 

(h) After a basic certificate is awarded, a police officer must achieve the prescribed 

training hours towards the next level of certification. After an intermediate certificate is awarded, 

a police officer must achieve the prescribed training hours for an advanced certificate. The police 

officer may not count the same hours towards each subsequent level of certification. (Eff. 
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8/10/73, Register 47; am 9/17/76, Register 59; am 5/8/77, Register 62; am 8/10/80, Register 75; 

am 9/23/84, Register 91; am 5/23/85, Register 94; am 3/16/89, Register 109; am 8/8/90, Register 

115; am 9/6/96, Register 139; am j_p.'-/ !2c/fo , Register .2J1) 

Authority: AS 18.65.220 AS 18.65.240 

13 AAC 85.050 is amended to read: 

13 AAC 85.050. Basic police officer academy [TRAINING PROGRAM]. (a) The 

basic police officer academy [TRAINING PROGRAM] consists of a minimum of 650 

continuous [40 HOURS OF SUPERVISED FIELD TRAINING AS PRESCRIBED IN THE 

ALASKA POLICE STANDARDS COUNCIL FIELD TRAINING MANUAL AND AT LEAST 

400] hours of instruction in basic law enforcement subjects. 

(b) The basic police officer academy [TRAINING PROGRAM] must include the 

following topics of instruction: 

(1) the United States Department of Homeland Security, Transportation 

Security Administration, Law Enforcement Officer Flying Armed Training Course [10 

HOURS OF FIRST AID INSTRUCTION SUFFICIENT TO QUALIFY STUDENTS FOR A 

STANDARD RED CROSS FIRST AID CERTIFICATE ORA COUNCIL-APPROVED 

EQUIVALENT]; [AND] 

(2) bloodborne pathogens; 

(3) ethics; 

(4) constitutional law, civil rights, and disability awareness; 

(5) control tactics; 

12 



Registerc2Ii, &,{,btr 2016 PUBLIC AFETY 

(6) cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR), basic first aid, and use of an 

automated external defibrillator (AED); 

(7) criminal investigation, including 

(A) controlled substances; 

(B) crimes against minors; and 

(C) sex crimes and human trafficking; 

(8) the criminal justice system; 

(9) criminal law and procedure; 

(10) crime scene investigation; 

(11) cultural diversity; 

(12) domestic violence; 

(13) driving under the influence, field sobriety training, and use of a 

scientific instrument to analyze a sample of a person's breath and determine the breath 

alcohol content in that sample; 

(14) electronic evidence and identity theft; 

(15) classroom and practical emergency vehicle operations; 

(16) emotional survival, police stress, and trauma; 

(17) mental health issues; 

(18) firearms, including 

(A) classroom instruction; 

(B) handguns, practical instruction; 

(C) handguns, practical instruction, low-light opentions; 
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and radar; 

(D) long guns, practical instruction; and 

CE) long guns, p1·actical instruction, low-light operations; 

(19) hazardous materials; 

(20) interview and interrogation; 

(21) juvenile law and procedures; 

(22) patrol procedures; 

(23) police tools, including TASER, oleoresin capsicum, baton, handcuffs, 

(24) professional communication; 

(25) radio procedures; 

(26) report writing; 

(27) search-and-seizure and search warrants; 

(28) social media; 

(29) traffic law and stops, including practical scenarios and accident 

investigation; and 

(30) use of force [INSTRUCTION IN CRIMINAL LAW, ADMINISTRATION 

OF JUSTICE, CRIMINAL INVESTIGATION, INCLUDING INVESTIGATION OF CRIMES 

AGAINST CHILDREN, OFFENSIVE AND DEFENSIVE TACTICS, FIELD TECHNIQUES, 

TRAFFIC OPERATIONS, PRECISION DRIVING, ETHICS, HUMAN RELATIONS, AND 

FIREARMS]. 

( c) To receive credit for the basic police officer academy [TRAINING PROGRAM], a 

person must attend all sessions of the academy [COURSE], except for absences approved by 
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the academy commander [SCHOOL DIRECTOR OR COORDINATOR], and be awarded a 

certificate of graduation by the academy commander [DIRECTOR OR COORDINATOR OF 

THE PROGRAM]. A person may not be certified for successful completion of the basic 

police officer academy [TRAINING PROGRAM] ifthe person 

(1) has excused absences exceeding 10 percent of the total hours of academy 

inslruction; 

(2) fails to achieve a passing grade of 70 percent or higher on each block 

of academy instruction; 

(3) fails to achieve a cumulative average of 70 percent or higher; or 

(4) fails to achieve a grade of 75 percent or higher on the firearms portion of the 

basic police officer academy [PROGRAM]. 

(d) The council may [WILL, IN ITS DISCRETION,] refuse to authorize admission 

to any council-certified basic police officer academy [THE MUNICIPAL POLICE 

ACADEMY] for any civilian applicants or persons employed as police officers who are not 

eligible for certification as a police officer under 13 AAC 85.005 - 13 AAC 85.150. (Eff. 

8/10/73, Register 47; am 8/10/80, Register 75; am 9/23/84, Register 91; am 8/8/90, Register 115; 

am 10/24/92, Register 124; am _1;11.{ I .2.0l b Register~ 

Authority: AS 18.65.220 AS 18.65.230 AS 18.65.240 

13 AAC 85.060(a) is amended to read: 

(a) The council may [WILL, IN ITS DISCRETION,] waive part or all of the basic 

police officer academy [TRAINING] requirements if an applicant furnishes satisfactory 
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evidence that the applicant has successfully completed 

(1) an equivalent basic police officer academy [TRAINING PROGRAM]; 

(2) a 12-consecutive-month probationary [TWELVE-CONSECUTIVE­

MONTHS PROBATION] period with the [ONE ALASKA] police department the applicant is 

employed with in this state at the time of the waiver request; 

(3) a council-certified, department-supervised [THE COUNCIL'S] field 

training program; and 

(4) a council-certified recertification police training academy that consists of 

a minimum of 80 hours of classroom and practical training and that includes the following 

topics of instruction: 

(A) criminal laws in this state; 

(B) control tactics; 

CC) domestic violence; 

(D) ethics; 

(E) firearms; 

(F) use of force; 

(G) juvenile law and procedures in this state; 

(H) laws of arrest in this state; 

0) traffic law in this state; 

(J) laws in this state regarding detection of driving under the 

influence and enforcement; and 

(K) recognizing and working with disabled persons [IN SUBJECT 
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AREAS CONSIDERED TO BE UNIQUE TO ALASKA, INCLUDING ALASKA'S 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE SYSTEM, JUVENILE PROCEDURES, COURT SYSTEM, 

CRIMINAL LAWS AND PROCEDURES, AND THE ENFORCEMENT OF 

ALASKA'S LAWS RELATED TO DRIVING WHILE INTOXICATED AND USE OF 

THE INTOXIMETER, AS WELL AS A FIRST AID REFRESHER COURSE AND 

FIREARMS QUALIFICATIONS]. 

13 AAC 85.060(b) is amended to read: 

(b) The council may [WILL, IN ITS DISCRETION,] enter into reciprocity agreements 

with states that regulate or supervise the quality of police training and that require a minimum of 

400 hours of classroom and practical training for police officers. The council will not enter 

into a reciprocity agreement under this subsection after December 31, 2016. 

13 AAC 85.060(c) is amended to read: 

(c) Notwithstanding (a) of this section, the council will not grant a waiver if the applicant 

was previously issued a certificate that lapsed more than five [10] years before the waiver was 

sought. 

13 AAC 85.060 is amended by adding a new subsection to read: 

(d) On or after January 1, 2017, the council may enter into reciprocity agreements with 

states that regulate or supervise the quality of police training and that require a minimum of 650 

hours of classroom and practical training for police officers. (Eff. 8/10/73, Register 47; am 
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8/10/80, Register 75; am 9/23/84, Register 91; am 10/24/92, Register 124; am 8/5/95, Register 

135; am 8/16/2000, Register 155; am 3/31/2005, Register 173; am _1;;.r / 2.tJlfo , Register MJ 

Authority: AS 18.65.220 AS 18.65.240 

The section heading of 13 AAC 85.090 is changed to read: 

13 AAC 85.090. Personnel reports [AND TRAINING RECORDS]. 

13 AAC 85.090 is amended by adding a new subsection to read: 

( d) Within 30 days after the allegation being sustained by administrative review, a 

participating police department shall notify the council of an allegation of misconduct by an 

officer employed by that department if the misconduct alleged may be cause for revocation under 

13 AAC 85.110. (Eff. 8/10/73, Register 47; am 9/17/76, Register 59; am 8/10/80, Register 75; 

am 9/23/84, Register 91; am 8/8/2007, Register 183; ain _!}_/)L/ / 2ol-6, Register~ 

Authority: AS 18.65.220 AS 18.65.240 

Editor's note: The forms required in 13 AAC 85.090 are available from the Alaska 

Police Standards Council, Department of Public Safety, P.O. Box 111200, Juneau, AK 99811-

1200 or on the council's website at http://www.dps.alaska.gov/APSC/forms.aspx 

[HTTP:/ !WWW.DPS.STATE.AK.US/ APSC/FORMS.ASPX]. 

As of Register 204 (January 2013), the regulations attorney made a technical revision 

under AS 44.62.125(b)(6), to 13 AAC 85.090(b). 
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The introductory language of 13 AAC 85.lOO(a) is amended to read: 

(a) The council may [WILL, IN ITS DISCRETION,] deny a basic certificate upon a 

finding that the applicant for the certificate 

The introductory language of 13 AAC 85.lOO(b) is amended to read: 

(b) The council will [SHALL] deny a basic certificate upon a finding that the applicant 

for the certificate 

. . . 

13 AAC 85.lOO(b)(l) is amended to read: 

(1) has been convicted of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence or, after 

hire as a police officer, has been convicted of any [A] felony, or of a misdemeanor crime listed 

in 13 AAC 85.010(b)(2); 

13 AAC 85.100(b)(2)(B) is amended to read: 

(B) illegally used or possessed a Schedule IA, IlA, IIIA, IVA, or VA 

[ANY OTHER] controlled substance, unless an immediate, pressing, or emergency 

medical circumstance existed to justify the use of a prescript ion Schedule IA, TIA, 

IIIA, IV A, or VA controlled substance not specifically prescribed to the person; or 
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The introductory language of 13 AAC 85.lOO(d) is amended to read: 

( d) If a person has been denied a basic certificate under this section, the person may 

petition the council for rescission of the denial after one year following the date of the denial. 

The petitioner must state in writing the reasons why the denial should be rescinded. A 

denial may [WILL, IN THE DISCRETION OF THE COUNCIL,] be rescinded for the following 

reasons: 

(Eff. 8/10/80, Register 75; am 9/23/84, Register 91; am 8/8/90, Register 115; am 10/24/92, 

Register 124; am 9/6/96, Register 139; am 7/15/98, Register 147; am 8/8/2007, Register 183; am 

j_;.Q'{ I 7-J>IC:i, Register ~ 

Authority: AS 18.65.220 AS 18.65.240 AS 18.65.270 

The introductory language of 13 AAC 85.1 lO(a) is amended to read: 

(a) The council may [WILL, IN ITS DISCRETION,] revoke a basic, intermediate, or 

advanced certificate upon a finding that the holder of the certificate 

The introductory language of 13 AAC 85.1 lO(b) is amended to read: 

(b) The council will [SHALL] revoke a basic, intermediate, or advanced certificate upon 

a finding that the holder of the certificate 
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13 AAC 85.lOO(b)(l) is amended to read: 

(1) has been convicted of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence or, after 

hire as a police officer, has been convicted of any [A] felony, or of a misdemeanor crime listed 

in 13 AAC 85.010(b)(2); 

13 AAC 85.l 10(b)(2)(B) is amended to read: 

(B) illegally used or possessed a Schedule IA, IIA, IIIA, IV A, or VA 

[ANY OTHER] controlled substance, unless an immediate, pressing, or emergency 

medical circumstance existed to justify the use of a prescription Schedule IA, IIA, 

DIA, IVA, or VA controlled substance not specifically prescribed to the person; or 

The introductory language of 13 AAC 85.1 lO(d) is amended to read: 

( d) If a basic, intermediate, or advanced certificate was revoked under this section, the 

former police officer may petition the council for rescission of the revocation after one year 

following the date of the revocation. The petitioner must state in writing the reasons why the 

revocation should be rescinded. A revocation may [WILL, IN THE DISCRETION OF THE 

COUNCIL,] be rescinded for the following reasons: 

. . . 
(Eff. 9/23/84, Register 91; am 8/8/90, Register 115; am 10/24/92, Register 124; am 9/6/96, 

Register 139; am 7/15/98, Register 147; am 8/8/2007, Register 183; am ..!l;JJ.l//2o/(, , Register 

21tl ) 

Authority: AS 18.65.220 AS 18.65.240 
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13 AAC 85.120(b) is amended to read: 

(b) A person may request reinstatement of a lapsed certificate after serving an additional 

12-month probationary period. A person shall attend a council-certified recertification 

academy described in 13 AAC 85.060(a)(4) [THE COUNCIL MAY REQUIRE 

SUPPLEMENTAL TRAINING] as a condition ofreinstatement if the person's ce·rtificate has 

been lapsed for 12 consecutive months or longer. A certificate expires [WILL NOT BE 

REINSTATED] if it has been lapsed for more than four [10] years. (Eff. 9/23/84, Register 91; 

am 8/5/95, Register 135; am 6/13/2002, Register 162; am 3/31/2005, Register 173; am 

.:l_!J.'f 12.Cfb, Register 2!1J 

Authority: AS 18.65.220 AS 18.65.240 

13 AAC 85.900(18) is amended to read: 

(18) "DUI [DWI] offense" means an offense [OF OPERATING A MOTOR 

VEHICLE, AIRCRAFT, OR WATERCRAFT WHILE INTOXICATED] under AS 28.35.030 or 

another law or ordinance with substantially similar elements, or an offense of refusal to submit 

to a chemical test under AS 28.35.032 or another law or ordinance with substantially similar 

elements; 

(Eff. 8/10/73, Register 47; am 8/10/80, Register 75; am 9/23/84, Register 91; am 3/16/89, 

Register 109; am 8/8/90, Register 115; am 10/24/92, Register 124; am 9/6/96, Register 139; am 

7/15/98, Register 147; am 3/25/2001, Register 157; am 4/12/2001, Register 158; am 6/13/2002, 

Register 162; am 8/8/2007, Register 183; am 2/13/2010, Register 193; am _j_;J!f_;2.otf:: 

Register _ld) 
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Authority: AS 18.65.220 

AS 18.65.240 

PUBLIC SAFETY 

AS 18.65.242 

AS 18.65.285 
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