Please note: The Department of Public Safety will accept applications for the State Trooper Recruit from all qualified applicants who are eligible to accept employment in the United States. The minimum qualifications for the State Trooper Recruit are outlined below. Applicants must meet both the Alaska Police Standards Council’s minimum qualifications for a police officer in the State of Alaska as well as the more restrictive Department of Public Safety’s Selection Criteria:
Alaska Police Standards Council’s minimum qualifications:
- Citizen of the United States of America.
- Possession of high school diploma recognized by a state, diploma from a home school program recognized or certified by a state or by a local school district within a state as having met the state’s graduation requirements, or Has passed a General Education Development (GED) test.
- 21 years of age or older at the time of Academy.
- Possession of a valid driver’s license issued within the United States.
- Never denied certification or had basic certification revoked by the Alaska Police Standards Council or the responsible certifying agency in any other issuing jurisdiction (unless the denial or revocation has been rescinded by the council under 13 AAC 85.270 or by the responsible certifying agency of the issuing jurisdiction).
- Never discharged or resigned under threat of discharge, for cause relating to dishonesty or misconduct, from employment as a police officer in this state, any other state, territory or country.
- Not disqualified from any portion of a prior formal background investigation conducted for this job classification in the last twelve months.
- Not used marijuana during the last 12 months.
- Not illegally manufactured, transported, purchased, distributed, or sold a controlled substance while employed as a peace officer or in a position associated with law enforcement.
- Not illegally manufactured, distributed, or sold a controlled substance (unless under 21 at the time of the act AND the act occurred more than 10 years ago).
- Not received more than three fish and wildlife enforcement citations within the three years before the date of this application.
- Not currently on court-ordered probation, either supervised or non-supervised.
- Not convicted of a felony whether set aside, suspended imposition, expunged, or pardoned, excluding juvenile adjudications.
- Not convicted of a misdemeanor crime that resulted in serious physical injury to another person in the last ten years.
- Not convicted of a crime, reduced or related, to domestic violence whether set aside, suspended imposition, expunged, or pardoned.
- Not convicted of more than one Driving Under the Influence (DUI) or chemical test refusal offenses in the last ten years.
- Not convicted of a crime of dishonesty or moral turpitude in the last ten years.
- Not convicted of more than two misdemeanors in the last ten years (unless under the age of 21 at the time of the acts AND three years have lapsed since the most recent act).
Department of Public Safety’s Selection Criteria:
ENGLISH LANGUAGE: The applicant must be conversant in English (both written and spoken)
- Applicant has no admissions of conduct anywhere, and there is nothing discovered during the background investigation or any testing or interview phase, which would be a felony under Alaska law (excluding drug use), as an adult 21 years of age or older, or within five years of application. Standard of proof applied will be reasonable suspicion.
- Applicant has not been charged with or convicted of any offense (excluding violations) within one year of application.
- Applicant has no more than 2 convictions or juvenile adjudications within 10 years of application, unless less than 21 years of age at the time of the offense, and 5 years have elapsed since the last conviction.
- Applicant was not under investigation of any crime or has any charges pending at the time of application, during the background process, at the time of hire, or during the probationary period.
- Not been convicted of any misdemeanor offenses within five years before the date of application.
- Not on court-ordered probation, either supervised or non-supervised within three years before the date of application.
- Applicant received no more than two moving citations within one year of application.
- Applicant will not have had a cancelled, revoked, suspended, or limited operator's license within the preceding 12 months.
- Applicant will not be required to maintain SR-22 (or other high-liability) insurance to legally drive at the time of hire or within one year of application.
- Not used, transported or purchased schedule IA, IIA, IIIA, IVA, or VA controlled substance during the last ten (10) years (unless under the age of 21 at the time of use AND the act occurred more than 3 years from date of application); or there was an immediate, pressing, or emergency medical circumstance to justify the use of a prescription controlled substance not prescribed to the person.
- While employed as a peace officer, Fire Marshal, correctional officer, VPSO, CSO, military police officer, licensed security guard or officer, or similar position anywhere or in any jurisdiction, the applicant has not used any illegal drug, or illegally used a controlled substance.
- If the applicant used an illegal drug (excluding marijuana) or illegally used a controlled substance when under the age of 21, the use was more than three years from the application.
PROFESSIONAL CONDUCT REQUIRED:
- The below requirements pertain to incidents occurring on duty or off duty. While employed as a peace officer, fire marshal, correctional officer, VPSO, CSO, military police officer, licensed security guard or officer, or similar position anywhere or in any jurisdiction (pertains to incidents occurring on duty or off duty). The applicant must be free of an affirmation of:
- Misconduct (including misuse of official position or authority).
- Excessive use of force.
- Termination for cause.