Division of Fire and Life Safety

Life Safety Inspection Bureau
5700 East Tudor Road, Anchorage, Alaska 99507
Phone: (907) 269-5637 | Fax: (907) 269-5018 | Email: dps.fireextinguisher@alaska.gov

Portable Fire Extinguisher Permit Program
(Authority 13AAC 50.030 (h))

CLASS | PERMITS: Effective November 16, 2012, the Division of Fire and Life Safety will no longer
issue these permits. See adopted Fire and Life Safety Regulations below.

BACKGROUND

The Alaska State Division of Fire and Life Safety issues permits for the installation, maintenance, and
repair of portable fire extinguishers. These fire extinguisher permits are issued under the following
program policies in accordance with 13AAC 50.030(h).

Permits:

Portable Fire Extinguisher Permits are valid for 3 years from the date of issue. To renew the permit an individual
must complete the same examination procedure as required for the initial permit. Permits are non-transferable and
shall be in possession of the applicant when engaged in activity for which the permit was issued. Violations of the
permit law (13 AAC 50.30 and 13 AAC 55.100) will be subjected to the penalties prescribed in AS 18.70.100.

Fees:

Presently there is no fee for these permits or exams.

Classes:

o Class II: Inspection, recharge, distribution, and maintenance of portable fire extinguishers. This includes
the annual inspections and tagging. This permit allows such things as weighing the unit, making sure the
internal powder has not settled, inspecting tags, seals, hoses, locking items, etc. along with the ability to
recharge, install the units in buildings, decide on unit location within the facility, and perform general
maintenance. General maintenance includes the removal and replacement of parts and/or powder, and any
required internal inspections. Maintenance issues are further identified in NFPA 10.

e Class llI: Inspection, recharge, distribution, maintenance, and hydrostatic testing of portable fire
extinguishers. This includes all the elements of Class Il, and also the ability to perform hydrostatic tests on
the portable units. Maintenance issues are further identified in NFPA 10. Hydrostatic testing and issues are
further identified in Compress Gas Association Manual (C-1 — 2009, 10th Edition).
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Testing:

Class Il and Il exams may be mailed to a 3rd party test administrator who will administer the exam in the local area.
All requests for a Class Il or [l exam must be submitted to our office two weeks before the exam date and in
writing with the following information:

Name of Test Proctor

Company or Agency of Test Proctor

Mailing Address of Company or Agency of Test Proctor
Name of examinee(s) taking the exam

Date of exam

Class of exam(s)

Signature and Date

Applicants are required to supply their own examination reference material, and find a test administrator in their area
who will administer the exam. The local test administrator is required to return all exam packets (applications,
answer sheets, exam rosters, and exams) to the Life Safety Inspection Bureau Office (LSIB) within 20 days of when
the materials were mailed. All exams are open book and require a 90% passing score. The exam time limitis
4 consecutive hours and applicants may not discuss test with other applicants or proctor during the exam.
LSIB will process and mail permits or denial letters to the applicant. Permits and denial letters are
processed within 14 business days of taking the exam. If the applicant does not receive correspondence
within 21 days from the exam date, please contact our office.

Fire and Life Safety Requlation Changes for Portable Fire Extinguishers

(h) A person may not inspect, recharge, maintain, or hydrostatic test portable fire extinguishers unless a permit from
the state fire marshal has been issued. The following apply to permits under this subsection:

13 AAC 50.030(h)(1) is amended to read:

(1) Each applicant for a Class 11 or IIl fire extinguisher permit must pass a written examination given by the state fire
marshal in order to qualify for a permit;

13 AAC 50.030(h)(2) is amended to read:
(2) A permit endorsed with the type of qualification will be issued to each qualified person for Class Il and llI;

(3) A permitissued under this subsection is presumed to contain the requirement that the applicant carry out the
permitted activity in compliance with all the requirements of state statutes and this chapter; a permit is
nontransferable; a permit is valid for three years after the date of issue; an infraction of this chapter or prescribed
manuals may be cause for revocation of the permit;

(4) Permits are classified and defined as follows:
o Class Il —annual service, recharge, distribute, tag and maintain portable fire extinguishers;
o Class Ill - annual service, recharge, distribute, tag, maintain, and hydrostatic test extinguishers;

13 AAC 50.030(h)(5) is amended to read:

(5) A permit holder shall place or cause to be placed the holder's permit number on the inspection tag of a portable
fire extinguisher to identify the work performed under the permit for Class Il and Ill. Documentation for monthly
inspections will consist of the person's signature on the extinguisher on the back of the inspection tag or
appropriately documented in accordance with electronic monitoring and inspection methods as adopted by NFPA
10 (2010 edition);
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13 AAC 50.030(h) is amended by adding a new paragraph to read:

(6) Itis the responsibility of the employer to provide training and documentation to enable the employer’s personnel
to conduct monthly inspections and non-invasive maintenance of portable fire extinguishers.

Examination Reference Materials & Downloads

Class Il

e NFPA 10, 2010 Edition
e Alaska Administrative Code, 13 AAC 50.030

Class llI:

e NFPA 10, 2010 Edition
o Compressed Gas Association Manual C-1, 2009 - 10th Edition
e Alaska Administrative Code, 13 AAC 50.030

NFPA 10, 2010 Edition: www.nfpa.org. It may also be available at most public libraries.
Alaska Administrative Codes, 13 AAC 50.030: http://www.dps.state.ak.us/fire/requlations.aspx.
Compressed Gas Association Manual: www.cganet.com.

Inspection & Maintenance Definitions:

Inspection and maintenance of portable fire extinguishers is defined by the Alaska State Division of Fire and Life
Safety as follows:

Monthly inspection:

Monthly inspections do not require a permit. This is a “quick check” that a fire extinguisher is available and will
operate. It is intended to give reasonable assurance that the fire extinguisher is fully charged and operable. This is
done by verifying that it is in its designated place, that it has not been actuated or tampered with, and that there is no
obvious or physical damage or condition to prevent its operation. A monthly inspection may be performed by anyone
who has received training and has been approved by the facility manager and/or owner.

Annual Inspection:

This is an in depth inspection that must be performed at least once per year. This inspection is intended to give an
assurance that the extinguisher is fully charged and operable. The scope of this annual inspection is outlined below.
Refer to NFPA 10. The annual inspection may only be performed by someone with at least a Class Il permit. This is
a complete external examination of the fire extinguisher. It includes a thorough examination of the unit, weighing the
unit, “shaking the powder” and any other procedure that does not include the removal of any part or piece of the unit.

Maintenance:

A complete and thorough examination of the fire extinguisher including internal and external inspections, intended to
give maximum assurance that a fire extinguisher will operate effectively and safely. This maintenance also includes
any necessary repairs or replacements. It will normally reveal if hydrostatic testing or internal maintenance is
required. Maintenance requires a Class Il or Il permit.

Recharging:

The replacement of the extinguishing agent (also includes the expellant for certain types of fire extinguishers).
Recharging requires a Class Il or lll permit.
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