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Department of Public Safety 

Division of Fire and Life Safety 

Life Safety Inspection Bureau 
5700 East Tudor Road, Anchorage, Alaska 99507 

Phone: (907) 269-5637 | Fax: (907) 269-5018 | Email: amy.noket@alaska.gov  

Portable Fire Extinguisher Permit Program 

Class I permits: Effective November 16, 2012, the Division of Fire and Life Safety will 
no longer issue these permit.  See adopted Fire and Life Safety Regulations below. 

BACKGROUND 

The Alaska State Division of Fire and Life Safety issues permits for the installation, maintenance, and 

repair of portable fire extinguishers.  These fire extinguisher permits are issued under the following 

program policies in accordance with 13AAC 50.030(h).  

Permits: 

Portable Fire Extinguisher Permits are valid for 3 years from the date of issue.  To renew the permit an individual 

must complete the same examination procedure as required for the initial permit.  Permits are non-transferable and 

shall be in possession of the applicant when engaged in activity for which the permit was issued.  Violations of the 

permit law (13 AAC 50.30 and 13 AAC 55.100) will be subjected to the penalties prescribed in AS 18.70.100.   

Fees: 

Presently there is no charge for these permits. 

Classes: 

 Class II: Inspection, recharge, distribution, and maintenance of portable fire extinguishers.  This includes 
the annual inspections and tagging.  This permit allows such things as weighing the unit, making sure the 
internal powder has not settled, inspecting tags, seals, hoses, locking items, etc. along with the ability to 
recharge, install the units in buildings, decide on unit location within the facility, and perform general 
maintenance.  General maintenance includes the removal and replacement of parts and/or powder, and any 
required internal inspections.  Maintenance issues are further identified in NFPA 10. 

 Class III: Inspection, recharge, distribution, maintenance, and hydrostatic testing of portable fire 
extinguishers.  This includes all the elements of Class II, and also the ability to perform hydrostatic tests on 
the portable units.  Maintenance issues are further identified in NFPA 10.  Hydrostatic testing and issues are 
further identified in Compress Gas Association Manual (C-1 – 2009, 10th Edition).  
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Testing: 

Class II and III exams may be mailed to a 3rd party test administrator who will administer the exam in the local area.  
All requests for a Class II or III exam must be submitted to our office two weeks before the exam date and in 
writing with the following information: 

 Name of Test Proctor 

 Company or Agency of Test Proctor 

 Mailing Address of Company or Agency of Test Proctor 

 Name of examinee(s) taking the exam 

 Date of exam 

 Class of exam(s) 

 Signature and Date 

Applicants are required to supply their own examination reference material, and find a test administrator in their area 
who will administer the exam.  The local test administrator is required to return all exam packets (applications, 
answer sheets, exam rosters, and exams) to the Life Safety Inspection Bureau Office (LSIB) within 20 days of when 
the materials were mailed.  All exams are open book and require a 90% passing score.  The exam time limit is 
4 consecutive hours and applicants may not discuss test with other applicants or proctor during the exam.  
LSIB will process and mail permits or denial letters to the applicant.  Permits and denial letters are 
processed within 14 business days of taking the exam.  If the applicant does not receive correspondence 
within 21 days from the exam date, please contact our office. 

Fire and Life Safety Regulation Changes for Portable Fire Extinguishers 

(h) A person may not inspect, recharge, maintain, or hydrostatic test portable fire extinguishers unless a permit from 
the state fire marshal has been issued. The following apply to permits under this subsection: 

13 AAC 50.030(h)(1) is amended to read: 

(1) Each applicant for a Class II or III fire extinguisher permit must pass a written examination given by the state fire 
marshal in order to qualify for a permit; 

13 AAC 50.030(h)(2) is amended to read: 

(2) A permit endorsed with the type of qualification will be issued to each qualified person for Class II and III; 

(3) A permit issued under this subsection is presumed to contain the requirement that the applicant carry out the 
permitted activity in compliance with all the requirements of state statutes and this chapter; a permit is 
nontransferable; a permit is valid for three years after the date of issue; an infraction of this chapter or prescribed 
manuals may be cause for revocation of the permit; 

(4) Permits are classified and defined as follows: 

 Class II – annual service, recharge, distribute, tag and maintain portable fire extinguishers; 

 Class III - annual service, recharge, distribute, tag, maintain, and hydrostatic test extinguishers; 

13 AAC 50.030(h)(5) is amended to read: 

(5) A permit holder shall place or cause to be placed the holder's permit number on the inspection tag of a portable 
fire extinguisher to identify the work performed under the permit for Class II and III. Documentation for monthly 
inspections will consist of the person's signature on the extinguisher on the back of the inspection tag or 
appropriately documented in accordance with electronic monitoring and inspection methods as adopted by NFPA 
10 (2010 edition); 

13 AAC 50.030(h) is amended by adding a new paragraph to read: 

(6) It is the responsibility of the employer to provide training and documentation to enable the employer’s personnel 
to conduct monthly inspections and non-invasive maintenance of portable fire extinguishers.  
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Examination Reference Materials & Downloads 

Class II: 

 NFPA 10, 2010 Edition 

 Alaska Administrative Code, 13 AAC 50.030 

Class III: 

 NFPA 10, 2010 Edition 

 Compressed Gas Association Manual C-1, 2009 - 10th Edition 

 Alaska Administrative Code, 13 AAC 50.030 

NFPA 10, 2010 Edition: www.nfpa.org. It may also be available at most public libraries. 
Alaska Administrative Codes, 13 AAC 50.030: http://www.dps.state.ak.us/fire/regulations.aspx. 
Compressed Gas Association Manual: www.cganet.com. 

Inspection & Maintenance Definitions: 

Inspection and maintenance of portable fire extinguishers is defined by the Alaska State Division of Fire and Life 
Safety as follows: 

Monthly inspection: 

Monthly inspections do not require a permit.  This is a “quick check” that a fire extinguisher is available and will 
operate. It is intended to give reasonable assurance that the fire extinguisher is fully charged and operable.  This is 
done by verifying that it is in its designated place, that it has not been actuated or tampered with, and that there is no 
obvious or physical damage or condition to prevent its operation.  A monthly inspection may be performed by anyone 
who has received training and has been approved by the facility manager and/or owner. 

Annual Inspection: 

This is an in depth inspection that must be performed at least once per year.  This inspection is intended to give an 
assurance that the extinguisher is fully charged and operable.  The scope of this annual inspection is outlined below. 
Refer to NFPA 10.  The annual inspection may only be performed by someone with at least a Class II permit. This is 
a complete external examination of the fire extinguisher.  It includes a thorough examination of the unit, weighing the 
unit, “shaking the powder” and any other procedure that does not include the removal of any part or piece of the unit. 

Maintenance: 

A complete and thorough examination of the fire extinguisher including internal and external inspections, intended to 
give maximum assurance that a fire extinguisher will operate effectively and safely.  This maintenance also includes 
any necessary repairs or replacements.  It will normally reveal if hydrostatic testing or internal maintenance is 
required.  Maintenance requires a Class II or III permit. 

Recharging: 

The replacement of the extinguishing agent (also includes the expellant for certain types of fire extinguishers).  
Recharging requires a Class II or III permit. 

http://www.nfpa.org/
http://www.dps.state.ak.us/fire/regulations.aspx
http://www.cganet.com/

