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II.  Alaska Concealed Carry Permit Questions:   
 
Question #1: Can I obtain a concealed carry permit even if I cannot legally 
possess firearms and ammunition?  
 
Answer: No. Only persons who can legally possess firearms can be granted concealed 
carry permits. 
 
Question #2:  What do I need to provide in connection with a concealed carry 
permit to prove that I received a pardon for a felony conviction? 
 
Answer: A certified copy of the pardon paperwork.  
 
Question #3:  What do I need to provide in connection with a concealed carry 
permit to prove that my felony conviction was set aside? 
 
Answer: A certified copy of the order setting aside the conviction.  
 
Question #4:  What do I need to provide in connection with a concealed carry 
permit to prove that ten years or more has passed since the date of my 
unconditional discharge from a felony conviction? 
 
Answer:  A certified copy of documentation from the Alaska Department of Corrections, 
or equivalent entity of another state for a conviction in that other state, reflecting the 
date of unconditional discharge.  
  
Question #5: Can I obtain an Alaska concealed permit if I have been convicted of 
a misdemeanor offense that does not trigger a prohibition against me possessing 
firearms and ammunition?  
 
Answer:  A person convicted of two or more class A misdemeanors in Alaska, or similar 
offenses in another jurisdiction, within the six years immediately preceding the date of 
application, regardless of whether the convictions were  later set aside or the subject of 
a pardon or other executive clemency, may not obtain an Alaska concealed carry permit 
 
Question #6: Why would I want to obtain an Alaska concealed carry permit if a 
permit is not needed to be able to legally carry concealed in Alaska?  
 
Answer:  The law of some other states might give some significance to your holding an 
Alaska concealed carry permit in connection with carrying concealed in those states. 
You will need to be sure of the law of any other state in which you may want to carry 
concealed to assure that you do commit a crime under the law of that state by carrying 
concealed even though you have obtained an Alaska concealed carry permit. 
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Question #7:  How do I apply for an Alaska concealed carry permit?  

Answer:  You must complete a handgun training course approved by the Department of 
Public Safety. Within one year after completion of the training course, a completed 
application must be delivered in person to an Alaska State Trooper office. The packet of 
materials must include the completed application, one photograph of you taken within 
30 days of the date on the application, identifiable fingerprints taken by a DPS approved 
technician, proof of successful completion of the handgun training course, and a $91.50 
application fee.  

Question #8:   How much does it cost to apply for an Alaska concealed carry 
permit?  

Answer:  $87.00.  

Question #9: Can I get my money back if my application for an 
Alaska concealed carry permit is not approved?  

Answer:  No.  Application fees are non-refundable. You should make sure that you 
qualify before submitting an application. Alaska Statutes 18.65.705 sets forth the 
qualifications that must be met for a person to obtain an Alaska concealed handgun 
permit.  

Question #10: Can someone else bring in my application for an Alaska concealed 
carry permit? 

Answer: No. The application for a new permit must be submitted in person to an Alaska 
State Trooper office. You will be asked to show a government issued photographic 
identity card to prove your identity.   

Question #11: How long is an Alaska concealed carry permit valid?  

Answer:  Assuming there is no change in federal or Alaska state law and no change in 
your ability to lawfully possess firearms, a permit will expire on your birthday in the fifth 
year following issuance, for a total period of time not to exceed five years.    

Question #12: Can residents of states other than Alaska obtain an Alaska 
concealed carry permit?  

Answer: No.  Alaska concealed permits can be issued only to persons who are and 
have been physically in Alaska for at least 90 days and who intend to remain in Alaska 
indefinitely. 

Question #13: Can legal resident aliens who reside in Alaska obtain an Alaska 
concealed carry permit?  
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Answer: Yes, provided the legal resident alien is and has been physically in Alaska for 
at least 90 days and intends to remain in Alaska indefinitely.  
 
Question #14:  Can I renew my Alaska concealed carry permit if I no longer am a 
resident of Alaska?  
 
Answer: No. Only residents of Alaska can renew Alaska concealed carry permits. 
 
Question #15: What good is my Alaska concealed carry permit if I no longer am a 
resident of Alaska?  
 
Answer: The permit very likely will no legal significance once you no longer are a 
resident of Alaska. The significance, if any, of the Alaska permit will depend on the law 
of the state in which you possess any firearm.    
 
Question #16:  My Alaska concealed carry permit is about to expire; what do I 
need to do to keep it valid?  
 
Answer:  You need to complete a renewal of concealed carry permit application (DPS 
form # 12-299-84) and submit it to the Alaska Concealed Carry Office at 5700 E. Tudor 
Road, Anchorage Alaska 99507. You need not deliver the application in person. 
Renewal applications must be postmarked not more than 90 days before your permit is 
to expire. A photograph taken within 30 days of the application and $25 non-refundable 
fee must be included in the submitted materials. A renewal application submitted after 
the permit has expired is subject to an additional $25 late fee. The department will not 
accept a renewal application for a permit that has been expired for more than 60 days.   
 
Question #17:  Am I required to surrender my old permit when I receive my 
renewed permit?  
 
Answer: No. There is no requirement to surrender an expired permit unless it was 
suspended or revoked.  You, however, may not display an expired permit in a manner 
that would imply it is remains valid.  
 
Question #18:  Am I required to surrender an expired Alaska concealed carry 
permit when I do not have a currently valid Alaska permit and I will not be 
applying for a new Alaska permit?   
 
Answer: No. There is no requirement to surrender an expired permit unless it was 
suspended or revoked.  You, however, may not display an expired permit in a manner 
that would imply it is remains valid.  
 
Question #19:  What do I do if I lose my permit or if it is stolen?  
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Answer: You must complete and submit an application for replacement of a concealed 
carry permit (DPS Form 12-299-85). The completed form, together with a photograph 
taken within 30 days of the application and $25 fee must be submitted in person at an 
Alaska State Trooper office.   
 
Question #20:  Do I have to do anything if my address changes?  
 
Answer: Yes.  You must notify DPS of any change in your address within 30 days of the 
change by completing and submitting a change of address notification (DPS Form #12-
299-88) to the Alaska concealed carry office at 5700 East Tudor Road, Anchorage, 
Alaska  99507.  
 
Question #21:  What do I do if my legal name changes?  
 
Answer: You need to complete and personally submit an application for replacement 
(DPS form 12-299-85) to an Alaska State Trooper office together with a certified copy of 
a court or other public document reflecting the change and a $25 fee.  
 
Question #22:  Does my having an Alaska concealed carry permit authorize me to 
carry concealed outside of Alaska?  
 
Answer: Maybe.  The legal significance of your Alaska concealed carry permit is 
determined by the law of the state or country in which you possess a firearm. Another 
state or country may or may not afford significance to an Alaska permit. The 
“Reciprocity” link on the Alaska concealed carry home page lists states that have 
indicated they will give significance to Alaska permits. The information reflected in the 
link, however, is updated only one time each year. The information, therefore, may not 
be current. You will need to independently determine the current status of the law in the 
state or country in which you will possess a firearm.  
.  
Question #23:  Does Alaska recognize and give significance to concealed carry 
permits issued by other states?   
 
Answer: All persons who physically are in Alaska – and who can legally possess 
firearms and ammunition – can legally carry concealed firearms except in certain 
specified locations, including, but not limited to, schools, child care facilities, 
courthouses, and places displaying notices that firearms are prohibited.   
 
Question #24: I am a retired peace officer. I retired before the Alaska concealed 
carry program came into effect.   Can I be "grand-fathered" into the permit 
program and be exempt from having to successfully complete the firearm training 
course requirement?   
 
Answer: No. You must apply for a concealed carry permit within one year of your 
retirement as a peace officer to qualify for the honorably retired peace officer provisions 
of the law. 


