AST > PIO > Press Releases > UPDATE: State Lifts Fireworks Suspension for Western Alaska

UPDATE: State Lifts Fireworks Suspension for Western Alaska

Suspensions in other regions remain in effect until further notice.

July 2, 2019 (ANCHORAGE) – The Alaska State Fire Marshal’s Office, in consultation with the State Forester’s Office and in accordance with Alaska Administrative Code 50.025 Fire Code, has canceled the fireworks sales and use suspension in Western Alaska, including Dillingham, Bethel, McGrath, Nome, Kotzebue and surrounding communities.
Until further notice, fireworks sales and use suspensions remain in effect in the following areas:
  • Fairbanks North Star Borough
  • Kenai Peninsula Borough
  • Matanuska-Susitna Borough
  • Kodiak Borough
  • Copper River Valley, including Glennallen south to Valdez
  • Tanana Valley north of the Alaska Range
  • Northern Panhandle, including Haines in the north, Skagway, and Juneau to the south
Updates regarding sale and use of and fireworks suspensions status will be posted during regular business hours in the Alaska State Troopers Daily Dispatches at under the heading “AK Div of Fire and Life Safety.”
PDF Version