CDVSA > Services > Sexual Assault > Sexual Assault

If your life is in danger, or if this is a medical emergency, call 911

You Are Not Alone

Click here for a printable brochure explaining choices for victims

Free, confidential, 24-hour help is available from trained professionals who will support you and explain your options if you have been sexually assaulted. These people ensure that your health and safety needs are met.

Where Can You Find Help?

Click here to find a list of victim services agencies in Alaska with links to their websites.

National Helplines

StrongHearts Native Helpline: Call 844-7NATIVE (844-762-8483) or visit for information or to chat online with an advocate.

RAINN National Sexual Assault Hotline: Call (800) 656-4673 or visit for information or to chat online with an advocate.

Love Is Respect for young people ages 13-26 who have questions or concerns about their romantic relationships. Call 866-331-9474, text LOVEIS to 22522, or visit for information or to chat online with an advocate.


The information on this page pertains only to adult victims, not minors i.e. someone 17 years of age or younger, or someone considered to be a vulnerable adult (a person 18 years of age or older who, because of incapacity, mental illness, mental deficiency, physical illness or disability, advanced age, chronic use of drugs, chronic intoxication, fraud, confinement, or disappearance, is unable to meet their own needs or to seek help without assistance.)

For help, contact one of the following:

  • Child abuse hotline (800) 478-4444, email or contact the nearest law enforcement agency.
  • Adult protective services (800) 478-9996 or contact the nearest law enforcement agency.

Frequently Asked Questions

From the State of Alaska Department of Law website:
Sexual assault is when someone, without your consent, touches or penetrates you sexually. Touching, such as rubbing a breast, vagina, penis or buttocks, even if it is through clothing, is called "sexual contact." Intercourse, oral sex or insertion of an object or body part into the vagina or anus is called "sexual penetration." Sexual contact or penetration occurs if the offender touches or penetrates your body, or if you have to touch or penetrate the offender's body.

Another sexual assault crime occurs when a person has sexual contact or penetration with you while you are incapacitated because of drugs, medication, or alcohol and, therefore, unable to give your consent. You are not to blame for the sexual assault. Sexual assault is NEVER the victim's fault.

Click here for the State of Alaska Department of Law Information on Sexual Assault webpage
Advocates are professionals trained to provide immediate and ongoing support to victims of crime such as listening, being present, ensuring confidentiality, informing you of your rights, answering questions about and providing emotional support for any medical or criminal justice processes, identifying resources and options for immediate needs, long-term support, and payment (i.e., childcare, food, transportation, safe shelter, and medical and court accompaniment, etc.), assisting with creating a safety plan, and assisting with plans for healing.
Advocates do not participate in the gathering of evidence, fact-finding, or investigating of the assault, provide an opinion on the merits of the case, conduct the medical-forensic or law enforcement interviews, or testify in court.
No. In Alaska, anonymous reporting is an option, where you can have a medical exam and evidence collected without law enforcement involvement. Survivors can later decide if they want to formally report to law enforcement. This is called anonymous reporting. If you are being seen by a medical provider, ask them or a local victim advocate about anonymous reporting.
Survivors of sexual assault can choose to receive a medical exam and have evidence collected without having personal information disclosed to law enforcement. If you choose to report anonymously, law enforcement will not investigate your case at this time. Survivors who report anonymously can later choose to report the assault to law enforcement, at which time the report will no longer be anonymous.
Yes. Evidence is typically collected within seven days of the assault, but an anonymous report can be made at any time.
No. Minors and vulnerable adults cannot report anonymously.

For information about reporting abuse of a minor visit Report Child Abuse in Alaska
For information about reporting abuse of a vulnerable adult visit Making Reports to Adult Protective Services.
You may contact any medical facility or sexual assault victim services agency in Alaska to get help and talk about reporting anonymously.

Click here to find a list of victim services agencies in Alaska with links to their websites to find contact information.
A Sexual Assault Response Team (SART) is a community-based team that is trained to provide a victim-centered and trauma-informed response to victims of sexual assault. The team may be comprised of medical personnel, sexual assault victim advocates, law enforcement, prosecutors, judges, and any other professionals with a specific interest in assisting victims of sexual assault.
  • Forensic Nurses have received special training in order to provide comprehensive care to sexual assault victims including conducting a forensic exam and providing expert testimony if a case goes to trial.
  • Advocates provide emotional support, information, and referrals to the victim and can be present during a medical examination, police interview, court proceeding, and throughout the healing process.
  • Law Enforcement Officers investigate the crime and provide emergency assistance, if a victim chooses to report the assault to law enforcement.