APSC INSTRUCTOR CERTIFICATION

Please take time to read through the entire packet and gather the applicable supporting documents. The checklist (last page of this packet) has been
included to assist in completing the application process. Also, please note the differentiation between Law Enforcement and General subjects.

The Alaska Police Standards council will award a permanent instructor certificate in law enforcement and general subject areas, as specified below. All applications
must be made on this form, F-9. Unless already sent to the APSC, verification of training and education must accompany the application. The requirements below are
intended to insure that instructors meet minimum qualifications in training, education, and experience. For full text of regulations governing instructor certification, see
13 AAC 87.040, printed in the APSC Regulations and Procedures Manual.

A. Law Enforcement Subjects. To be eligible for certification to teach subjects clearly law enforcement in nature, an applicant must have a minimum of:

=

high school diploma or the equivalent;

three years’ experience in their respective professions;

3. 40 hours of council-approved instructor training - including but not limited to: communications, psychology of learning, techniques of instruction, use of
instructional aids, lesson plans, evaluation of training, teaching resources, preparing and giving tests, and trainee motivation;

4. 40 hours of verified training in each subject to be taught; and

5. recommendation by a director of a council-approved training program* or by the applicant's department head (per signature of endorsing official on this form).

N

B. General (non-police) Subjects. To be eligible for certification to teach general subjects, an applicant must have the minimum of:
1. abachelor’s degree from an accredited college;
2. three years’ experience in the subject taught; and
3. the recommendation by a director of a council-approved training program* (per signature of endorsing official on this form).

C. Waivers. The council may waive any part of the above requirement if:

1. it finds that a person, though not meeting all of the requirements, is otherwise qualified to be an
instructor.

Training directors/coordinators or department heads must submit a request for waiver in writing, stating why they consider the applicant qualified, even though he/she
does not meet all requirements specified above.

The council may revoke certification whenever it finds an instructor is no longer qualified; the instructor will be so notified and allowed the opportunity to be heard.
An instructor certificate becomes inactive if the holder does not instruct at least one APSC certified course during an interval of three consecutive years.

*Programs certified by the APSC under 13 AAC 87.010 or .020
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Alaska Police Standards Council
Department of Public Safety

PO Box 111200

Juneau, AK 99811-1200

Ph: (907) 465-4525

APSC INSTRUCTOR CERTIFICATION APPLICATION

F-9

NOTE: Continue on another sheet of paper if you need more space.

Name (Last, First, Middle)

Certification Requested:
[ Police [ Corrections

[J Law Enforcement

[J General

Home Address

Social Security Number

City, State, Zip Code

Email Address

Phone (Business)

Address/Location

Dates Fmplaoyed

Agency (List Present Employer First) Erom To Highest Position Held
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= 4.

Recent Teaching Experience

Course requesting Certification to Teach: ~ PLEASE ATTACH F-20

and LESSON PLAN for Course

Where

When

Subjects Taught

Law Enforcement: (if “Law Enforcement” box is checked above)

1.

2.

3.

Instructor Courses Completed (Attach Verification of Training)

General: (if “General” box is checked above)

B. TEACHING
EXPERIENCE & EDUCATION

1.

2.

3.

High School

ﬁ Diploma 0 ceD College(s) Attended/Location Credit Hours | Major Deagree (Type)
~ | Date Received:

25
=E
83 | school/Location:
g3
<w
§)
" Signature of APPLICANT Attesting Above Information is True and Correct: Date APSC USE ONLY
IS Approved by:
:Z; Signature of ENDORSING OFFICIAL (Department Head/Academy Director/Training Coordinator) Date Date issued
<n. Number
a
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APSC INSTRUCTOR CERTIFICATION APPLICATION CHECKLIST

Police and Corrections Law Enforcement Police and Corrections General

Et?;:él&%ntation of completion of instructor level course in topic seeking certification Documentation of bachelor’s degree attached or on file

Documentation of 40-hour instructor development (MOI/Train the Trainer) course attached Three years’ experience in subject taught

High school diploma attached or on file F-9 signed by endorsing official (agency head/academy director/training coordinator)

Waiver attached (if instructor candidate does not meet one or more of the above

Three years’ experience as police/corrections .
Y p P requirements)

F-9 signed by endorsing official (agency head/academy director/training coordinator) F-20 attached

Waiver attached (if instructor candidate does not meet one or more of the above
requirements)

]

F-20 signed by endorsing official (agency head/academy director/training coordinator)

qDHD

F-20 attached Lesson plan attached to F-20

F-20 signed by endorsing official (agency head/academy director/training coordinator)

Lesson plan attached to F-20

Please submit all forms and supporting documents to Robert Heide at the Alaska Police Standards Council. Documents
may be submitted in hard copy form or by e-mail.

Mailing address:

Alaska Police Standards Council
Attn: Robert Heide

PO Box 111200

Juneau, AK 99811-1200

Electronic mail:

Robert Heide, Training Coordinator
Robert.Heide@Alaska.gov

(907) 465-4525

Additional forms, to include the F-20, may be found online at: http://www.dps.state.ak.us/APSC/forms.aspx
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