STATE OF ALASKA

DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY

RENEWAL

of a
CONCEALED HANDGUN PERMIT

This packet contains:

= General information and instructions
= Photograph specifications and instructions
= Application to renew an Alaska concealed handgun permit

Direct inquiries to:

Department of Public Safety

Permits and Licensing Unit

5700 East Tudor Road, Anchorage, AK 99507

Phone (907) 269-0392

FAX (907) 269-5609
www.dps.state.ak.us/Statewide/PermitsLicensing/concealedhandguns.aspx
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GENERAL INFORMATION
Retain for your files

1. ALASKA CONCEALED HANDGUN PERMIT RENEWAL
You may apply to renew your concealed handgun permit within 90 days before the expiration of the permit. Renewal
applications submitted earlier than 90 days before the expiration date of the permit will not be accepted.

You are not required to return or surrender your concealed handgun permit upon its expiration. However, you may not
represent or display an expired permit as if it were valid unless you have submitted a complete, timely renewal application and
the renewal process has been delayed due to circumstances beyond your control.

By submitting an application to renew your concealed handgun permit you acknowledge that you have read and understand the
state laws and regulations relating to concealed handgun permits (AS 18.65.700 — 18.65.790 and 13 AAC 30.010 — 13 AAC
30.900).

2. ADDRESS, RESIDENCE, AND TELEPHONE INFORMATION
You must be a resident of Alaska at the time you renew your concealed handgun permit. Alaska residency is defined under
Alaska Statute 01.10.055.

You are required to list a residence address on the renewal application. Your residence address is the physical location of your
home or other place where you habitually live and includes your house/apartment number, street name, city, and zip code. In
outlying areas, provide a brief description of your physical address, e.g., “Village Road, fourth house on the left next to boat
ramp.”

You are not required to provide your telephone number. However, renewal processing time may be reduced if there is a
correctable problem on your application and you’ve provided your daytime telephone number.

3. RENEWAL APPLICATION PROCESS
Renewal applications may be submitted by mail to the department’s Permits and Licensing Unit in Anchorage. You are not
required to apply in person to renew your concealed handgun permit.

Review your renewal application and all required documentation before you submit them. Failure to submit a properly
completed renewal application and all required supporting documentation listed in #5 below may delay the processing of your
concealed handgun permit renewal.

Complete renewal applications will be processed within 30 days of receipt. “Complete” means all applicable questions on the
renewal application form are answered in full, the renewal application form is signed and dated, and the required fee and all
required supporting documentation listed in #5 below has been submitted.

4. LATE RENEWAL APPLICATIONS
A renewal application submitted on or after the expiration date of the permit is subject to a $25 late fee. This is in addition to
the $25 renewal fee.

Renewal applications submitted more than 60 days after the expiration date of the permit WILL NOT BE ACCEPTED and will be
returned to the permit holder. If your permit has been expired for more than 60 days, you must complete the application
process for a new permit.

5. THE FOLLOWING ITEMS MUST BE SUBMITTED WITH YOUR APPLICATION:

[ ] a. A non-refundable renewal application fee of $25 (or $50 if submitting the renewal application on or after the
expiration date of the permit) payable by personal check, cashier’s check, or money order made out to State of
Alaska.

[ ] b. One quality frontal view color photograph taken within the 30 days preceding your application. See the Photograph
Instructions and Specifications page in this packet for size restrictions and specific information.

6. TERM OF PERMIT
Alaska concealed handgun permits expire on the person’s birthday in the fifth year following issuance of the permit. The
department may adjust the length of an initial permit so that a permit is not issued for a period of more than five years.
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CONCEALED HANDGUN PERMIT PHOTOGRAPH INSTRUCTIONS AND SPECIFICATIONS

INSTRUCTIONS:
1. Photograph must be taken within the 30 days preceding the date of application.

2. Print applicant’s name, date photograph was taken, and the Alaska driver’s license number or Alaska
identification card number on the back of the photograph.

Width not less than 2”

Top of head to

shoulders /

Height not
less than 2”

Al

SPECIFICATIONS

1. Uncut (not trimmed), rectangular, color photograph including the top of the subject’s head to the
shoulders (computer disc from a digital camera is acceptable — format must be .BMP, .DIB, .TGA, .TIF,
.PCX, .GIF, .WPG, .JPG, .CMP, and .PCD).

2. Outer dimension of the photograph is not less than 2 inches wide by 2 inches high (passport
photographs are acceptable).

Photograph of applicant is full frontal view including head and shoulders only.
Background is very light or white with no fancy backdrop or lettering behind subject.

Image is sharp and correctly exposed, not retouched.

o v~ w

Photograph lies flat, is not stained, cracked, or mutilated; is not pasted on a card or mounted in any
way.

N

Group pictures and full-length portraits are not acceptable.

8. Photograph of applicant in a hat or sunglasses is not acceptable.

IMPORTANT NOTE: Failure to submit a photograph as specified will delay application processing.
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ALASKA CONCEALED HANDGUN PERMIT Do not write in this space
DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY RENEWAL APPLICATION
Division of Statewide Services Please type or print using black ink

This renewal will not be processed unless all applicable questions are answered and the
required photograph and renewal fee accompany the application. THE RENEWAL FEE IS
NON-REFUNDABLE.

Section I.
ALASKA DRIVERS LICENSE OR Department Use Only DATE OF BIRTH PERMIT EXPIRATION DATE
IDENTIFICATION NUMBER APSIN NUMBER
FIRST NAME MIDDLE NAME LAST NAME SUFFIX
(NMN If no middle name or MIO if initial only) (Jr, Sr, 11, 11)
HEIGHT WEIGHT HAIR COLOR EYE COLOR RACE GENDER DAYTIME TELEPHONE NUMBER
FT. IN. LBS. [ JHome [ Jwork [ cel

RESIDENCE ADDRESS CITY STATE ZIP CODE

MAILING ADDRESS (IF DIFFERENT THAN ABOVE) CITY STATE ZIP CODE

Section Il.

Has there been any change in the information submitted on or with your original concealed handgun permit [ ]Jyes []NoO

application that is not reported on this renewal application?

If you answered “YES,” provide an explanation below or attach a signed statement with an explanation. Include copies of
judgments, charging documents or any other paperwork that will allow the department to determine whether you continue to meet
the requirements of AS 18.65.705.

Section lll.

WARNING: AN APPLICANT WHO SUPPLIES A FALSE STATEMENT, ANSWER OR DOCUMENT IN CONNECTION WITH AN
APPLICATION FOR A CONCEALED HANDGUN PERMIT THAT THE APPLICANT DOES NOT BELIEVE TO BE TRUE MAY BE PROSECUTED
FOR UNSWORN FALSIFICATION IN THE SECOND DEGREE AND, IF FOUND GUILTY, MAY BE PUNISHED FOR VIOLATION OF A CLASS A
MISDEMEANOR, AND IN SUCH CASES, THE PERMIT SHALL BE REVOKED AND THE APPLICANT MAY BE BARRED FROM ANY
FURTHER APPLICATION FOR A PERMIT.
| HEREBY STATE UNDER PENALTY OF LAW THAT:

I have read AS 18.65.705 and | remain qualified to receive and hold a permit to carry a concealed handgun;

1.

2. | want a permit to carry a concealed handgun for lawful purposes, which may include self-defense;
3. All statements, answers, and attachments to this application are true and complete; and
4.

| understand that a permit eligibility investigation will be conducted as part of the application process which may involve
computerized records searches and | authorize the investigation.

Full Name of Applicant (clearly printed or typed)

Signature of Applicant Date
DEPARTMENT USE ONLY
The receiving agency acknowledges that on the sum of $ was received in the form of:
[ ]casH [ ] CHECK No. MONEY ORDER No.
Signature of employee accepting application Printed or typed name of employee accepting application
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http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/folioproxy.asp?url=http://wwwjnu01.legis.state.ak.us/cgi-bin/folioisa.dll/stattx09/query=*/doc/%7bt9024%7d?

ALASKA NICS-EXEMPT CONCEALED Do not write in this space
DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY HANDGUN PERMIT SUPPLEMENT
Division of Statewide Services Please type or print using black ink

The information provided on this form is VOLUNTARY and needed only if you are
requesting a “NICS-Exempt” designation on your concealed handgun permit. This
completed form must be submitted as a supplement to a new concealed handgun
permit application, a renewal application, or an application for a replacement permit.

Section I.

FIRST NAME MIDDLE NAME LAST NAME SUFFIX
(NMN If no middle name or MIO if initial only) (Jr, Sr, 11, 1)

COUNTRY OF CITIZENSHIP (List/check more than one, if applicable)
[ Junited States of America [] other (specify):

If you are not a citizen of the United States, what is your U.S.-issued alien number or admission number?

Section Il.

Answer questions 1 — 11 by checking “yes” or “no” in the boxes to the right of the questions.

1. Are you under indictment or information in any court for a felony, or any other crime, for which the judge | [ ] YES | [ ] NO
could imprison you for more than one year?

2. Have you ever been convicted in any court of a felony, or any other crime, for which the judge could have |:| YES |:| NO
imprisoned you for more than one year, even if you received a shorter sentence including probation?

3. Areyou a fugitive from justice? []yes | [ ]NO

4. Are you an unlawful user of, or addicted to, marijuana or any depressant, stimulant, narcotic drug, or any |:| YES |:| NO
other controlled substance?

5. Have you ever been adjudicated mentally defective (which includes a determination by a court, board, | [ ] YES | [ ] NO
commission, or other lawful authority that you are a danger to yourself or to others or are incompetent to
manage your own affairs) OR have you ever been committed to a mental institution?

6. Have you been discharged from the Armed Forces under dishonorable conditions? |:| YES |:| NO

7. Are you subject to a court order restraining you from harassing, stalking, or threatening your child or an | [ ] YES | [_]NO
intimate partner or child of such partner?

8. Have you ever been convicted in any court of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence? |:| YES |:| NO
9. Have you ever renounced your United States citizenship? []yes | []NO
10. Are you an alien illegally in the United States? []yes | [ ]NO
11. Areyou an alien admitted to the United States under a nonimmigrant visa? |:| YES |:| NO
Section IV.

WARNING: AN APPLICANT WHO SUPPLIES A FALSE STATEMENT, ANSWER OR DOCUMENT IN CONNECTION WITH AN
APPLICATION FOR A CONCEALED HANDGUN PERMIT THAT THE APPLICANT DOES NOT BELIEVE TO BE TRUE MAY BE PROSECUTED
FOR UNSWORN FALSIFICATION IN THE SECOND DEGREE AND, IF FOUND GUILTY, MAY BE PUNISHED FOR VIOLATION OF A CLASS A
MISDEMEANOR, AND IN SUCH CASES, THE PERMIT SHALL BE REVOKED AND THE APPLICANT MAY BE BARRED FROM ANY
FURTHER APPLICATION FOR A PERMIT.

| HEREBY STATE UNDER PENALTY OF LAW THAT:

1. All statements, answers, and attachments to this form are true and complete; and

2. lunderstand that a permit eligibility investigation will be conducted as part of the NICS-Exempt designation process which may
involve computerized records searches and | authorize the investigation.

Full Name of Applicant (clearly printed or typed)

Signature of Applicant Date

12-299-89 (02/11/2013) NICS-Exempt Concealed Handgun Permit Supplement




9.0.0.2.20120627.2.874785
Off
Off
Off
Off
Off
Off
Off
Off
Off
Off
Off
Off
Off
Off
Off
Off
Off
Off
Off
Off
Off
Off
Off
Off
Off
Off
Off
	ALASKA DRIVERS LICENSE OR IDENTIFICATION NUMBER: 
	DATE OF BIRTH: 
	PERMIT EXPIRATION DATE: 
	FIRST NAME: 
	MIDDLE NAME (NMN If no middle name or MIO if initial only): 
	LAST NAME: 
	SUFFIX (Jr, Sr, II, III): 
	Text2: 
	HAIR COLOR: 
	EYE COLOR: 
	RACE: 
	GENDER: 
	Text3: 
	: 
	RESIDENCE ADDRESS: 
	CITY: 
	STATE: 
	ZIP CODE: 
	MAILING ADDRESS (IF DIFFERENT THAN ABOVE): 
	CITY: 
	STATE: 
	ZIP CODE: 
	Has there been any change in the information submitted on or with your original concealed handgun permit application that is not reported on this renewal application? YES NO If you answered “YES,” provide an explanation below or attach a signed statement with an explanation. Include copies of judgments, charging documents or any other paperwork that will allow the department to determine whether you continue to meet the requirements of AS 18.65.705.: 
	Full Name of Applicant (clearly printed or typed: 
	Date: 
	TextField1: 
	TextField2: 
	undefined: Off
	undefined: Off
	COUNTRY OF CITIZENSHIP (List/check more than one, if applicable) United States of America Other (specify):: 
	If you are not a citizen of the United States, what is your U.S.-issued alien number or admission number?: 
	Full Name of Applicant (clearly printed or typed: 
	Date: 



