

For Immediate Release June 19, 2015

FIREWORKS SUSPENSION EXPANDED

The Alaska State Fire Marshal's Office has added three more localities to be included in the immediate suspension on fireworks in accordance with Alaska Administrative Code 50.025 Fire Code. In cooperation with the Alaska Department of Natural Resources / Division of Forestry the suspension will include the sale and use of all fireworks and will be in effect for the following areas:

- Copper River Valley
- Fairbanks North Star Borough
- Kenai Borough
- Matanuska Susitna Borough
- Municipality of Anchorage
- Tanana Valley north of the Alaska Range
- Western Alaska

It is furthermore highly recommended that all areas of the state not use fireworks and that you check your local laws regarding consumer fireworks. Fireworks not only pose a fire danger, but also have a tendency to cause physical injuries and children should never be allowed to play with fireworks. Together we can make Alaska a safe state.

REMEMBER: FIRE SAFETY IS EVERYONE'S RESPONSIBILITY

####

For more information contact: Michael Warzewick

Training and Education Bureau – Public Education Coordinator

645 Cope Industrial Way, Palmer, AK 99645 – Voice (907) 746-5062 – Fax (907) 745-4529