For Immediate Release

Alaska Fire Service Award Recipients Named

Fire service employees from state and city agencies receive peer recognition.

November 1, 2019 (ANCHORAGE) — Anchorage Fire Department firefighter/paramedic Christopher "Doug" Widener was off duty and driving down the Old Seward Highway this past January when his daughter pointed out smoke coming from a local business. Widener didn't hesitate. He pulled into the parking lot and went to work, using his training to evacuate and account for everyone in the building, including a woman he found confused and disoriented in a second-floor room filling with smoke.

For his actions, Widener was named **Firefighter of the Year** at the Alaska Fire Service Awards banquet held late last month at the Alaska Fire Conference in Ketchikan. And he wasn't alone.

- Department of Public Safety Rural Fire Training Coordinator Lisa Shield was recognized
 as Fire and Life Safety Educator of the Year for her extraordinary commitment to the
 development and implementation of fire prevention and safety programs for Alaska's rural
 communities.
- The Ken Akerley Fire Service Leadership Award went to Anchorage Fire Department
 Deputy Chief Brian Keene for his work to restructure the Operations Division from a
 primarily fire response staffing model to a broader focus on the delivery of EMS which
 represents the majority of AFD responses.

The Annual Fire Service Awards recipients are nominated by their peers for exceptional service to their communities during the preceding year. The selection committee is made up by the award recipients from the prior year.

For more information, contact Public Information Officer Ken Marsh at ken.marsh@alaska.gov or (907) 269-5654.