THE STATE Department of Pllbll? Safety
of Violent Crimes Compensation Board
AL ASKA 5700 East Tudor Road

Anchorage, Alaska 99507
GOVERNOR MIKE DUNLEAVY 800-764-3040

veeb@alaska.gov
Fax: 907.465.2379

RELOCATION PLAN AND GUIDELINES

The Relocation Plan must be completed in its entirety and supporting documentation must be
provided to assist the Board in determining that the need to relocate is a result of the crime.
Relocation may be awarded if:
A. The victim fears for their own safety or health.
B. The crime occurred in the victim’s residence causing emotional trauma.
C. The victim has been evicted or is at risk of eviction as a result of the crime.
The maximum payment is $7,500 per household. The award amount will be dependent on actual and verifiable
expenses.
Relocation must occur within one (1) year from the date of the crime, discovery of the crime, or when the
crime could have reasonably been reported. An explanation must be provided to request a waiver for good
cause if more than one (1) year has passed.
ELIGIBLE RELOCATION EXPENSES
Housing application fee PO Box rental up to one year Utility deposit and/or connection
fee for electric, gas, propane,
water and/or sewer

Rental deposit and/or pet deposit Hotel up to 5 nights with a cap of | Professional moving company
$225 per night fees up to $2500

Rent up to $2000 or up to two Van or truck rental Lodging for out of state move

months, whichever is less (reimbursement basis only)

Storage up to two months Airfare, mileage ($0.30/mile), or other transportation costs for actual
move

REQUIRED DOCUMENTATION

Completed Relocation Plan

If you have relocated or secured a new rental:

Copy of lease for new rental, listing claimant as Lessee or Tenant
Rental Verification completed and signed by landlord or property manager
Substitute W9 Form if payment is due to landlord

Copy of all itemized invoices, billing statements, and paid receipts related to the relocation in the
claimant’s name that include the vendor's name, address, and phone number; date and type of service
provided, and amount charged for each service.

If you need assistance, please contact our office.
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Staying Safe

Victims should utilize safety tips and additional community and law enforcement resources
to ensure their safety.

Safety Tips for Crime Victims Who Are Relocating:

Get an unlisted phone number and caller ID

Log any threatening calls or texts and report them to police

Be cautious about providing personal information

Keep a list of critical contact numbers and locations (law enforcement, attorney,
medical care, domestic violence shelter, etc.)

Tell trusted friends, neighbors and co-workers about the situation

Give them a description of the suspect and the vehicle they may be driving
Vary travel routes to work, stores and social engagements

Try to stay in public areas

Avoid travelling alone if possible

Keep a small, packed suitcase handy but secure with your driver’s license, social
security card, birth certificate, passport, and medications
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Additional Information:

National Coalition Against Domestic Violence www.ncadv.org
National Domestic Violence Hotline 800-799-SAFE or www.ndvh.org
National Center for Victims of Crime 855-4-victim or https://victimconnect.org/

Additional Victim Relocation Resources (in Alaska)

Alaska Housing Vouchers

The Housing Choice Voucher Program is the federal government’s program for assisting
low-income families with housing. The Alaska Housing Finance Corporation (AHFC)
administers the voucher program in Alaska. Families can apply at any of the AHFC program
locations (Anchorage, Bethel, Cordova, Fairbanks, Homer, Juneau, Ketchikan, Kodiak,
Nome, Petersburg, Seward, Sitka, Soldotna, Valdez, Wasilla, Wrangell). For more
information see the AHFC website: www.ahfc.us/rental/housing _choice voucher

Sexual Assault and Domestic Violence Resources

Victims of sexual assault and domestic violence can seek assistance and the shelter of
temporary emergency housing through sexual assault or domestic violence resources in
their local community. A listing of advocacy and housing services, including those specific to
sexual assault and domestic violence, is available on the VCCB website at:
www.doa.alaska.gov/vceb/VictimServices/sheltersAdvocates.html

Homelessness Call 2-1-1 Alaska for direct assistance for the homeless and for referrals or
visit http://www.alaska211.org Also visit the Alaska Homeless Shelter Directory at:
http://www.homelessshelterdirectory.org/alaska.html
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VIOLENT CRIMES COMPENATION BOARD (ALASKA) RELOCATION PLAN

REQUEST FOR RELOCATION ASSISTANCE

Please identify where you were living at the time of the crime, whom you were living with, and why you need to
relocate due to the crime.

List the individuals, other than yourself, that have or will relocate with you:

Name Age Relationship to You

Do you have a housing voucher? ONO OYes If yes, submit a copy of the voucher.
Did your previous landlord return any portion of rent or deposit? O No OYeS If yes, amount $

Were you evicted or have you received an eviction notice? O No O Yes If yes, submit a copy of
the eviction notice.



RELOCATION EXPENSE WORKSHEET — REIMBURSEMENT MAY NOT EXCEED $7500

Please indicate estimated costs and/or actual costs and provide documentation to support the type of expense and
requested amount.

Expense $ Amount

Rental/Pet Deposit/Housing Application Fee $
Electric Deposit/Connection Fee

Gas Deposit/Connection Fee

Water Deposit/Connection Fee

Rent up to $2,000 or two months, whichever is less
Van/truck rental

Storage (limited to two months)

Airfare, mileage, or other transportation costs for actual
move

Up to 5 days in a motel/hotel (Up to $225 per night)
P.O. Box rental and monthly fees up to one year
Licensed/Professional moving company fees
Other

Total Relocation Expenses
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INCOME WORKSHEET

VCCB considers your financial ability to maintain future and ongoing rental expenses. List all sources of income
including, but not limited to, wages, unemployment, public assistance (e.g. ATAP, TANF, other), Social Security,
alimony and child support. Note: Reimbursement may not exceed $3000 if unable to show sufficient income to
maintain rent.

Type of Payment Amount Received (net) Frequency

Paycheck $600 Weekly

SIGN & RETURN COMPLETED FORM TO THE VIOLENT CRIMES COMPENSATION BOARD (VCCB)

AGREEMENT

Signature: Date: Phone:

| attest that the information provided is accurate and true.
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