

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

DPS PR# 18-43

Contact: Jonathon Taylor, Communications Director – 907-717-3922

State Set to Receive \$5 million to Combat Drug Trafficking

H.I.D.T.A. Board selected; \$2.5 million per year expected to assist ongoing drug interdiction efforts

October 3, 2018 ANCHORAGE, Alaska – After receiving approval for a federal High Intensity Drug Trafficking Area (H.I.D.T.A.) Designation <u>earlier this year</u>, Alaska is expected to receive \$5 million in federal dollars to combat illicit drug trafficking. The funds – \$2.5 million from federal fiscal year 2018, and \$2.5 million for federal fiscal year 2019 – will aid and supplement ongoing partnerships statewide aimed at reducing the drug trade. Obtaining the H.I.D.T.A. Designation has been a key item on the state's <u>Public Safety Action Plan</u>.

"Alaska is fortunate to have such strong, positive relationships throughout our federal, state, and local law enforcement agencies," Department of Public Safety Commissioner Walt Monegan said. "These federal funds will further empower those partnerships and provide additional resources in our ongoing battle to prevent illicit drug trafficking. I look forward to seeing the amazing work that will be done thanks to this designation."

The H.I.D.T.A. Executive Board has been seated, and the group approved a preliminary budget Monday. Early priorities for the federal funding include supplementing drug interdiction task forces in Fairbanks, Southeast Alaska, and at the Anchorage International Airport, as well as paying for additional law enforcement time, equipment, and training. The Board is made up of equal federal and state/local law enforcement agencies:

- Justin Doll; Chief, Anchorage Police Dept. (Chair)
- Andrew Greenstreet; Acting Director, Alaska State Troopers
- **Eric Jewkes;** Chief, Fairbanks Police Dept.
- Ed Mercer; Chief, Juneau Police Dept.
- Dave Ross; Chief, Kenai Police Dept.
- Burke Waldron; Chief, Bethel Police Dept.
- Jeffrey Brown; Chief, North Slope Borough Police Dept.
- Jahna Lindemuth; Attorney General, State of Alaska

- Randy Thompson; Coast Guard Investigative Service (Vice Chair)
- Michael Root; Drug Enforcement Administration
- Jeffrey Peterson; Federal Bureau of Investigation
- Aaron Ybarra; Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives
- Dean Wauson; Homeland Security Investigations
- Jacob Gholson; U.S. Postal Inspection Service
- Rob Heun; U.S. Marshals Service
- Bryan Schroder; U.S. Attorney for the District of Alaska