Alaska Police Standards Council



Alaska Department of Public Safety

P. O. Box 111200 Juneau, Alaska 99811-1200 Main: 907.465.4378 Fax: 907.465.3263

Waiver and Reciprocity

Conditions:

Per <u>13 AAC 85.060</u>, the council may, at its discretion, waive part or all of the basic academy training if an applicant furnishes satisfactory evidence that the applicant successfully completed an equivalent basic police training academy. A reciprocal Officer must still attend a council certified recertification police training academy that consists of a minimum of 80 hours of classroom and practical training.

In order for a basic police academy outside of Alaska to be considered reciprocal it must have been at least 650 hours and include the following topics of instruction:

- 1. Disability awareness and working with those with disabilities
- 2. Bloodborne pathogens
- 3. Ethics
- 4. Constitutional law and civil rights
- 5. Control tactics
- 6. Cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR), basic first aid, and use of an automated external defibrillator (AED)
- 7. Criminal investigation including:
 - a. Controlled substances
 - b. Crimes against minors
 - c. Sex crimes & human trafficking (Minimum of 12 hours of instruction on Sexual Assault)
- 8. The criminal justice system
- 9. Criminal law and procedure
- 10. Crime scene investigation
- 11. Cultural diversity
- 12. Domestic violence (Minimum of 12 Hours)
- 13. Driving under the influence, field sobriety training, and use of a scientific instrument to analyze a sample of a person's breath and determine the breath alcohol content of that sample
- 14. Electronic evidence and identity theft
- 15. Classroom and practical emergency vehicle operations
- 16. Emotional survival, police stress and trauma
- 17. Mental health issues
- 18. Firearms, including:
 - a. Classroom instruction
 - b. Handguns, practical instruction
 - c. Handguns, practical instruction, low-light operations
 - d. Long guns, practical instruction
 - e. Long guns, practical instruction, low-light operations
- 19. Hazardous materials

- 20. Interview and interrogation
- 21. Juvenile law and procedure
- 22. Patrol procedures
- 23. Police tools, including TASER, oleoresin capsicum, baton, handcuffs, and radar
- 24. Professional communication
- 25. Radio procedures
- 26. Report writing
- 27. Search and seizure and search warrants
- 28. Social media
- 29. Traffic law and stops, including practical scenarios and accident investigation
- 30. Use of force

APSC exercises discretion by individually evaluating a reciprocal applicant's entire training history to determine if the above criteria have been met. For example; an officer with many years of experience and hours of in-service and advanced training is likely eligible for Alaska reciprocity despite their basic academy, years earlier, only being 450 hours in length. Additionally, prior police experience is recognized in Alaska toward Intermediate and Advanced officer certification. Interested applicants are urged to contact APSC if they have any questions.

To ultimately obtain Alaska Certification the reciprocal applicant must:

- Meet the minimum standards for a police officer under Alaska's statutes and regulations;
- Successfully complete the Alaska reciprocity academy or an equivalent;
- Successfully complete an approved field training program with an Alaskan agency;
- Successfully complete a 12-month, full time, probationary employment period as an officer with an APSC member agency.

For additional inquiries about waiver and reciprocity including submission of records for review please contact the Alaska Police Standards Council Training Coordinator at apsc@alaska.gov or 907-465-4378. When submitting training and employment records for reciprocal review please include as detailed and complete a record as is available.

Updated: August 23rd, 2023