# STATE OF ALASKA

## DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY



# APPLICATION

# for a CONCEALED HANDGUN PERMIT

This packet contains:

- General information and instructions
- Specifications and instructions for photographs and fingerprints
- Application for a new Alaska concealed handgun permit

Direct inquiries to:

Department of Public Safety Permits and Licensing Unit 5700 East Tudor Road, Anchorage, AK 99507 Phone (907) 269-0392 FAX (907) 269-5609 www.dps.state.ak.us/Statewide/PermitsLicensing/concealedhandguns.aspx

#### **GENERAL INFORMATION**

#### Retain for your files

#### 1. ALASKA CONCEALED HANDGUN PERMIT

By submitting an application for a concealed handgun permit you acknowledge that you have read and understand the state laws and regulations relating to concealed handgun permits (AS 18.65.700 – 18.65.790 and 13 AAC 30.010 – 13 AAC 30.900).

#### 2. ADDRESS, RESIDENCE, AND TELEPHONE INFORMATION

You must be a resident of Alaska for at least the 90 days immediately preceding your application for a concealed handgun permit.

You are required to list a residence address on the application and fingerprint card. Your residence address is the physical location of your home or other place where you habitually live and includes your house/apartment number, street name, city, and zip code. In outlying areas, provide a brief description of your physical address, e.g., "Village Road, fourth house on the left next to boat ramp."

You are not required to provide your telephone number. However, application processing time may be reduced if there is a correctable problem on your application and you've provided your daytime telephone number.

#### 3. APPLICATION PROCESS

You must apply IN PERSON for a concealed handgun permit at an office of the Alaska State Troopers, Alaska Wildlife Troopers, or a municipal police department authorized to accept Alaska concealed handgun permit applications. You must show a valid Alaska driver's license or identification card at the time of application.

Review your application and all required documentation before you submit them. Failure to submit a properly completed application and all required supporting documentation listed in #4 below may delay the processing of your application.

Complete applications will be processed within 30 days of receipt. "Complete" means all applicable questions on the application form are answered in full, the application form is signed and dated, and the required fee and all required supporting documentation listed in #4 below has been submitted.

#### 4. THE FOLLOWING ITEMS MUST BE SUBMITTED WITH YOUR APPLICATION:

- a. A non-refundable application fee of \$87.00 payable by personal check, cashier's check, or money order made out to *State of Alaska*.
- b. A copy of a certificate showing successful completion of a handgun course approved by the department and completed within the 12 months immediately preceding your application. The certificate will not be returned. A list of approved handgun courses is available from the department's Permits and Licensing Unit at the address listed on the cover page.
- c. **One complete set of fingerprints of acceptable technical quality.** Fingerprints submitted must be on a standard 8" x 8" FBI Applicant Fingerprint Card and be rolled by a person or agency approved by the department or by a law enforcement agency or state correctional facility at the discretion of the agency or facility. A list of fingerprint technicians or agencies approved by the department is available on the ACHP website. See the <u>Concealed Handgun Permit Fingerprint Card Instructions</u> page in this packet for specific information.
  - d. **One quality frontal view color photograph** taken within the 30 days preceding your application. See the *Photograph Instructions and Specifications* page in this packet for size restrictions and specific information.

#### 5. TERM OF PERMIT

Alaska concealed handgun permits expire on the person's birthday in the fifth year following issuance of the permit. The department may adjust the length of an initial permit so that a permit is not issued for a period of more than five years.

#### CONCEALED HANDGUN PERMIT PHOTOGRAPH INSTRUCTIONS AND SPECIFICATIONS

#### **INSTRUCTIONS:**

- 1. Photograph must be taken within the 30 days preceding the date of application.
- 2. Print applicant's name, date photograph was taken, and the Alaska driver's license number or Alaska identification card number on the **back** of the photograph.



#### SPECIFICATIONS

- 1. Uncut (not trimmed), rectangular, color photograph including the top of the subject's head to the shoulders (computer disc from a digital camera is acceptable format must be .BMP, .DIB, .TGA, .TIF, .PCX, .GIF, .WPG, .JPG, .CMP, and .PCD).
- 2. Outer dimension of the photograph is **not less than** 2 inches wide by 2 inches high (passport photographs are acceptable).
- 3. Photograph of applicant is full frontal view **including head and shoulders only**.
- 4. Background is very light or white with no fancy backdrop or lettering behind subject.
- 5. Image is **sharp** and **correctly exposed**, not retouched.
- 6. Photograph lies flat, is not stained, cracked, or mutilated; is not pasted on a card or mounted in any way.
- 7. Group pictures and full-length portraits are **not** acceptable.
- 8. Photograph of applicant in a hat or sunglasses is **not** acceptable.

#### IMPORTANT NOTE: Failure to submit a photograph as specified will delay application processing.

#### **CONCEALED HANDGUN PERMIT FINGERPRINT CARD INSTRUCTIONS**

Submit one complete set of fingerprints on a standard 8"x 8" FBI APPLICANT FINGERPRINT CARD with your application. Fingerprints must be taken by a person or agency approved by the department or by a law enforcement agency or state correctional facility (at the discretion of the agency or facility). A list of approved fingerprint technicians or agencies can be found on the ACHP website at www.dps.state.ak.us/statewide/PermitsLicensing/concealedhandguns.aspx. There may be a charge by the fingerprint technician or agency for fingerprinting.

### Type or clearly print all required information on the fingerprint card using BLACK INK. Wash and thoroughly dry your fingers before fingerprinting. Do not sign the fingerprint card before your fingerprints are taken.

ADDITOANT

LEAVE BLANK

- 1. Enter your full name using the format last name followed by a comma, first and middle name. Suffixes (i.e., Jr., Sr., III, etc.) follow the middle name.
- **2.** Enter your residence address.
- **3.** Enter the name and address of the fingerprint technician or agency taking the fingerprints.
- **4.** List any other names used that are different from the name entered in the NAME block, including maiden and previous married names of females.
- 5. Enter your date of birth in MM DD YYYY format.
- **6.** Enter "US" if you are a United States citizen; otherwise enter the applicable country or country abbreviation.
- **7.** Enter "M" for male, "F" for female.
- 8. Use the following codes to denote your race:
  - A (Asian, Pacific Islander)
  - B (Black)
  - I (American Indian, Alaska Native)
  - **W** (White)
- **9.** Enter your height in feet and inches, not total inches. Example: 5' 7" is entered as 5 07. Do not use fractions of an inch.
- **10.** Enter your weight in pounds.
- **11. and 12.** Choose only one color to describe the color of your eyes and hair using the appropriate three letter code from the following list:

<u>EYE COLOR</u>	<u>CODE</u>	HAIR COLOR	CODE
Black	BLK	Bald	BAL Use when a person has lost most of the hair on top of their head.
Blue	BLU	Black	BLK
Brown	BRO	Blonde	BLN
Gray	GRY	Brown	BRO
Green	GRN	Gray	GRY Use when most of the person's hair is gray.
Hazel	HAZ	Red or Auburn	RED
Maroon	MAR	Sandy	SDY
Pink	PNK	White	WHI

- **13.** Enter the city and state, territorial possession, province (Canada), or country of birth. Use the correct abbreviation for foreign countries or correctly spell the country name. Do not list a county as a place of birth.
- **14.** You are not required to provide your Social Security Number, but may do so voluntarily.

**Do not fold or damage the fingerprint card.** Fingerprint cards cannot be processed if they are folded, creased, or damaged. Fingerprint cards that are rejected may require resubmission and may require a reexamination fee.

#### IMPORTANT NOTE: Failure to submit a fingerprint card as specified will delay application processing.

APPLICANT			1.								
GNATURE OF PERSON TRACERAR DONOT SIGN BEFORE ELIDENCE OF PERSON PROCEPTS	YOUR FINGERPRINTS ARE TAKEN	4.	O R -	LEA	VE BLAN	ĸ	L	DATE OF BIRTH DO Marth Day 5.			
ATE BIORATURE OF OFF	2.	CITIZENSHIP CTZ	323 7.	8ACS 8.	<u>+ot</u> 9.	10.	11.	12.	MACE OF BRITH POB		
MPLOYER AND ADDRESS	3.	YOUE HO. OCA LEAVE BLANK THI NO. FBI LEAVE BLANK ARMID FORCES HO. MINU		1435	and a state of the	A STREET, STRE	COLUMN TWO IS	EAVE BLANK			
ASON FINGERMINITED	AVE BLANK	LEAVE BLANK SOCIAL SECURITY NO. <u>SOC</u> 14. MISCELLANEOUS IND. <u>MINI</u> LEAVE BLANK	2	827							
e. THUMS	2. K. DADEX	3 & MIDUE		4.2.0	NG			5. R. LT	THE		
1. THUMB	7. L. INDEX	R. L. MIDDLE		9.1 B	NG			10. L 10	me		

TYPE OR PRINT ALL INFORMATION IN BLACK

ALASKA	
--------	--

DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY Division of Statewide Services

#### APPLICATION FOR A NEW CONCEALED HANDGUN PERMIT Please type or print using black ink

Do not write in this space

This application will not be processed unless all applicable questions are answered and the required training certificate, photograph, fingerprint card, and application fee accompany the application. THE APPLICATION FEE IS NON-REFUNDABLE.

#### Section I.

_	ALASKA DRIVERS LICENSE OR IDENTIFICATION NUMBER		Department Use Only APSIN NUMBER		DATE OF BIRTH		F	PLACE OF BIR	IRTH (CITY, STATE or CITY, COUNTRY)					
		FIRST NAME		(NMN If no n		LE NAME ame or MIO if initial only)		LA	ST NAME		SUFFIX (Jr, Sr, II, III)			
				(							(,,,			
HEIC	GHT	WEIGHT	HAIR COLOR	EYE COLC	R	RACE	GENDER		DAYTIME TELEP	HONE NUMB	R			
FT.	IN.	LBS	i.							Home	Work Cell			
RESIDENCE	ADDRESS					СІТҮ			STATE	ZIP C	DDE			
MAILING A	ADDRESS (IF	DIFFERENT THA	N ABOVE)			СІТҮ			STATE	ZIP CODE				
List the	city and	d state of e	ach place you ha	ve resided	in the	e five years imme	diately pre	ceding th	is application	plication. Attach a separate				
page if	necessa	ry.												
CITY						STATE			FROM (Date)	FROM (Date) TO (Date)				
										present				

#### Section II.

**WARNING:** AN APPLICANT WHO SUPPLIES A FALSE STATEMENT, ANSWER OR DOCUMENT IN CONNECTION WITH AN APPLICATION FOR A CONCEALED HANDGUN PERMIT THAT THE APPLICANT DOES NOT BELIEVE TO BE TRUE MAY BE PROSECUTED FOR UNSWORN FALSIFICATION IN THE SECOND DEGREE AND, IF FOUND GUILTY, MAY BE PUNISHED FOR VIOLATION OF A CLASS A MISDEMEANOR, AND IN SUCH CASES, THE PERMIT SHALL BE REVOKED AND THE APPLICANT MAY BE BARRED FROM ANY FURTHER APPLICATION FOR A PERMIT.

#### I HEREBY STATE UNDER PENALTY OF LAW THAT:

- 1. I have read AS 18.65.705 and I qualify to obtain a concealed handgun permit;
- 2. I have been furnished with a copy of the state laws and regulations relating to concealed handguns and have read and understand them;
- 3. I want a permit to carry a concealed handgun for lawful purposes, which may include self-defense;
- 4. All statements, answers, and attachments to this application are true and complete; and
- 5. I understand that a permit eligibility investigation will be conducted as part of the application process which may involve computerized records searches, as well as the submission of my fingerprints for comparison against both State of Alaska and FBI criminal records files. I authorize this investigation.

Full Name of Applicant (clearly printed or typed)

Signature of Applicant

Date

D	EPARTMENT USE ONLY
The receiving agency acknowledges that on	the sum of \$was received in the form of:
CASH CHECK No.	MONEY ORDER No
Signature of employee accepting application	Printed or typed name of employee accepting application

D	ALASKA EPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY Division of Statewide Services	NICS-EXEMPT CONCEAL HANDGUN PERMIT SUPPLE Please type or print using blac	MENT	Do not write in	this space	2		
req con	information provided on this form is uesting a "NICS-Exempt" designation upleted form must be submitted as a mit application, a renewal application, or	on your concealed handgun per supplement to a new concealed	mit. This handgun					
Sec	tion I.							
	FIRST NAME	MIDDLE NAME (NMN If no middle name or MIO if initial only)		LAST NAME		SUFFIX (Jr, Sr, II, III)		
	ITRY OF CITIZENSHIP (List/check more than one, if applic Jnited States of America Other (	авle) (specify):						
If yo	ou are not a citizen of the United States,	what is your U.Sissued alien numb	per or adm	ission number?				
Sec	tion II.							
Ans	wer questions 1 – 11 by checking "yes" o	or "no" in the boxes to the right of t	he questic	ons.				
1.	Are you under indictment or informatic could imprison you for more than one y		other crir	ne, for which the judge	YES	□ NO		
2.	Have you ever been convicted in any constraints in any constraints on the second secon				YES	□ NO		
3.	Are you a fugitive from justice?				YES	□ NO		
4.	Are you an unlawful user of, or addicted other controlled substance?	ed to, marijuana or any depressant	t, stimulan	t, narcotic drug, or any	YES	□ NO		
5.	Have you ever been adjudicated men commission, or other lawful authority t manage your own affairs) <b>OR</b> have you	that you are a danger to yourself o	r to other	s or are incompetent to	YES	□ NO		
6.	Have you been discharged from the Arn	ned Forces under <b>dishonorable</b> cor	ditions?		YES	🗌 NO		
7.	Are you subject to a court order restraintimate partner or child of such partne		g, or threa	tening your child or an	YES	□ NO		
8.	Have you ever been convicted in any co	ourt of a misdemeanor crime of don	nestic viole	ence?	YES	🗌 NO		
9.	Have you ever renounced your United S	States citizenship?			YES	🗌 NO		
10.	Are you an alien <b>illegally</b> in the United S	States?			YES	🗌 NO		
11.	Are you an alien admitted to the United	States under a nonimmigrant visa	?		YES	🗌 NO		
Sec	tion IV.							
APF FOF MIS FUF	<b>RNING:</b> AN APPLICANT WHO SUP CLICATION FOR A CONCEALED HANDGU UNSWORN FALSIFICATION IN THE SECO DEMEANOR, AND IN SUCH CASES, THE THER APPLICATION FOR A PERMIT. REBY STATE UNDER PENALTY OF LAW T	OND DEGREE AND, IF FOUND GUIL HE PERMIT SHALL BE REVOKED /	OES NOT I TY, MAY B	BELIEVE TO BE TRUE MA E PUNISHED FOR VIOLAT	Y BE PRO FION OF A	SECUTED		

- 1. All statements, answers, and attachments to this form are true and complete; and
- 2. I understand that a permit eligibility investigation will be conducted as part of the NICS-Exempt designation process which may involve computerized records searches and I authorize the investigation.

Full Name of Applicant (clearly printed or typed)

Signature of Applicant

Date