The below questions and answers are designed to provide general information to the public. Neither the Alaska Department of Public Safety nor the Alaska Attorney General's Office provide legal advice to individual citizens. Individuals should seek the advice of a private lawyer admitted to practice law in Alaska regarding the legal ramifications or legality of possessing firearms and/or ammunition in Alaska in light of their unique circumstances. Additional general information can be found at the website of the United States Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives: www.atf.gov/firearms/faq.
Printer Friendly version
Yes; unless one of the following circumstances exist:
Yes; provided the protective order:
Yes; unless the possession is in direct connection with lawful hunting or a lawful organized athletic or sport shooting event.
No. In Alaska, anyone who is 21 years of age or older and legally allowed to possess a firearm is permitted to carry the firearm concealed without a permit.
Yes. The law requires you to immediately inform the officer that you are in possession of the firearm; failure to do so is a criminal offense.
You can contact the Canadian Firearms information Office at (800) 731-4000 for information about possessing firearms and ammunition in Canada
Yes, unless the terms of the pardon provide that the prohibition on possessing firearms and ammunition is to remain in effect.
No, except that Alaska does recognize pardons issue by the Governors of other states.
Convictions for felony offenses against persons trigger life time prohibitions which cannot be lifted by anything other than the granting of a pardon. Prohibitions arising from other felony convictions are lifted as a matter of law after the expiration of a period of 10 years following unconditional discharge from probation and parole.
Yes. The conviction and resulting prohibition remains in effect unless and until a court later issues a separate order expressly "setting aside the conviction."
Yes. Juvenile adjudications have the same effect as adult convictions regarding firearm possession in Alaska.
No. All have the same effect.
The State of Alaska's interpretation of the current status of the law, as established in 2007 by the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals in United States v. Nobriga, 474 F. 3d 561, is that such convictions do not trigger a prohibition for purposes of state court prosecutions. This interpretation is subject to change if additional court case decisions are issued in the future. Additionally, the United States Department of Justice's interpretation of the Nobriga decision, for purposes of federal prosecutions, may differ from the interpretation of the State of Alaska.
Convictions for Alaska misdemeanor offenses, other than domestic violence assault, do not trigger firearm prohibitions. As reflected in the answer to question 31, convictions for Alaska domestic violence assault do not trigger a prohibition for purposes of state court prosecution. Prohibitions arising from the issuance of court orders, including domestic violence protective orders, are dependent on the terms of the order. Prohibitions arising from domestic violence protective orders remain in effect indefinitely unless later expressly dissolved by separate court order.
Black powder guns that meet the federal definition of being "antique firearms" are not classified as firearms and therefore may be lawfully possessed by persons prohibited from possessing firearms. Black powder for use in antique firearms in connection with sporting, recreational or cultural purposes is not classified as ammunition and may be possessed in a quantity not to exceed 50 pounds by persons prohibited from possessing ammunition.
5700 East Tudor Road
Anchorage, AK 99507
Phone: (907) 269-5511