Alaska Statute 18.65.748 states that a person holding a valid permit to carry a concealed handgun from another state or a political subdivision of another state is a permittee under AS 18.65.700 (b) for purposes of AS 18.65.750 - 18.65.765. All other Alaska statutes apply to the permit holder. Permit holders must be 21 years old or older to be valid in Alaska.

Alaska Statute 18.65.775 requires the Department of Public Safety to enter into reciprocity agreements with other states that have the legal authority to enter into such agreements so that Alaska Concealed Handgun permittees may carry concealed handguns in those other states.

Annually, the Department of Public Safety will review legislation in other states to determine if a reciprocity agreement is required or if an existing agreement is still valid. It is important for permit holders to understand that when they are traveling in or through another state they are subject to the firearm laws of that state. You should verify the requirements of the state to which you will be moving/traveling before you carry a concealed handgun in that state.

The following states recognize valid Alaska concealed handgun permits:

The following states will not recognize Alaska concealed handgun permits:

  1. Alabama
  2. Arkansas
  3. Arizona (Agreement)
  4. Colorado
  5. Delaware
  6. Florida (Agreement)
  7. Georgia
  8. Idaho
  9. Indiana
  10. Iowa
  11. Kansas
  12. Kentucky
  13. Louisiana
  14. Maine
  15. Michigan
  16. Minnesota
  17. Mississippi
  18. Missouri
  19. Montana
  20. Nebraska
  21. Nevada
  22. New Hampshire
  23. New Mexico
  24. North Carolina
  25. North Dakota (Agreement)
  26. Ohio (Agreement)
  27. Oklahoma (Agreement)
  28. Pennsylvania (Agreement)
  29. South Carolina
  30. South Dakota (Agreement)
  31. Tennessee
  32. Texas (Agreement)
  33. Utah
  34. Vermont
  35. Virginia
  36. West Virginia
  37. Wisconsin
  38. Wyoming (Agreement)
  1. California
  2. Connecticut
  3. Hawaii
  4. Illinois
  5. Maryland
  6. Massachusetts
  7. New Jersey
  8. New York
  9. Oregon
  10. Rhode Island
  11. Washington
  12. Washington D.C.

Click on the state of interest to visit their web site or click on 'Agreement' to view a printable copy of the actual agreement. Please note that some states do not require a written 'agreement', but have verified in writing that they will honor Alaska Concealed Handgun Permits.

Any person traveling to a state that has agreed to honor Alaska permits is encouraged to visit that state's web site to review laws and regulations specific to that state.